What is Hedra, in short?
Updated October 30, 2026 · By Elias Brandt · Documentation review, not tested hands-on
Pros
- Two ways to pay
- Many models in one place
- Commercial use listed
- Cheap entry price
Cons
- Free amount unknown
- Credit cost per second unclear
- Strict likeness rules
- Positioning has shifted
Best forSolo creators making short video, image and voice workDevelopers who need media models by APINot for avatars of other real peopleNot for buyers who need fixed yearly prices
Strengths, limits and who it suits, in full
Strengths
- Two ways to pay Studio subscriptions suit hands-on work and the API has no subscription, seat fee or minimum.
- Many models in one place The Studio page names several video, image and audio providers behind one agent.
- Commercial use listed Basic, Pro, Ultra, Teams and Enterprise each list commercial use.
- Cheap entry price Basic starts at $20 a month.
Limits
- Free amount unknown The page says to start free but lists no free plan or credit amount.
- Credit cost per second unclear The pages we read give no Studio credit rate, so a clip's cost is only visible inside the app.
- Strict likeness rules The Acceptable Use Policy bars media of anyone other than yourself.
- Positioning has shifted The homepage leads with model infrastructure, so avatar-focused guides may describe an older product.
Who it suits
- Solo creators making short video, image and voice work Basic at $20 a month is a low-cost way to test the agent workspace.
- Developers who need media models by API Pay-as-you-go billing with no minimum and MCP, SDK and CLI access.
- Not for avatars of other real people The Acceptable Use Policy bars media of anyone other than yourself.
- Not for buyers who need fixed yearly prices Yearly amounts were not readable.
How much does Hedra cost?
Some prices not published · checked
Regional prices: Prices are US dollars from the pricing page; plan cards load client-side, so amounts were read from the page's own script and match its 'from $20/month' description.
Monthly and yearly billing is switchable on the page, but yearly amounts were not read and none is stated here. Teams is $75 a month with 14,400 credits; whether that is per seat is not stated. Ultra lists allowances up to 57,600 credits a month without saying what raises it. The page script also defines an $8 Go plan with 800 credits shown only to some visitors, so it is not listed. Subscription credits reset each cycle; pack credits do not expire. After cancelling, limited watermarked generations remain. API rates are 'from' prices per model and are billed from a separate prepaid balance; Studio credits do not fund it. Dedicated serving and training are priced per engagement.
| Plan | Price | What you get |
|---|---|---|
| Basic | $20 per month sourceFrom hedra.com/pricing, checked Oct 30, 2026 (opens in a new tab) | 2,000 credits a month, slower generations, commercial use; monthly billing price (the yearly switch exists, yearly amounts not read). |
| Pro | $50 per month sourceFrom hedra.com/pricing, checked Oct 30, 2026 (opens in a new tab) | 7,200 credits a month, faster generation, commercial use. |
| Ultra | $100 per month sourceFrom hedra.com/pricing, checked Oct 30, 2026 (opens in a new tab) | 18,000 credits a month, fastest generation, commercial use, Teams plan access; allowances up to 57,600 credits a month are listed. |
| Teams | $75 per month sourceFrom hedra.com/pricing, checked Oct 30, 2026 (opens in a new tab) | 14,400 credits a month, fastest generation, commercial use, Teams plan access; whether the price is per seat is not stated. |
| Enterprise | Custom | Custom volume and pricing; commercial use, Slack support, dedicated account manager, forward-deployed engineers, private deployments, SSO, legal and security review. |
| API | Pay as you go | Prepaid dollar balance with no subscription or minimum; avatar and lip-sync video from 2.5 cents per second (60 seconds from $1.50), general video from 1.22 cents per second, speech from 5 cents per 1,000 characters; Studio credits do not pay for API jobs. |
Which plan fits?
Smallest plan whose monthly credits cover your number with 15% spare for regenerations. Arithmetic from the plan table above, not a usage test.
How far does it go?
- One minute of avatar video through the APIAt the listed 'from' rate of 2.5 cents a second, 60 seconds is 60 x $0.025 = $1.50. Arithmetic on a minimum rate, not a quote: each model sets its own rate, the API has no subscription fee, Studio credits cannot pay for it, and the Studio credit cost per second was not published, so no Studio figure is given.
Arithmetic from the published allowances above, not a usage test.
Taxes, currency and promotions can change the price you see at checkout.
Visit Hedra (opens in a new tab)
Key features
| Feature | What it does | Watch out |
|---|---|---|
| A creative agent that plans, generates and edits video, image and audio from a written brief | — | |
| Shared Spaces where a team and its agents work on one canvas | — | |
| Saved Elements for characters, products and references, and reusable Skills | — | |
| Video, image and speech models from several providers in one place, including Kling, Veo, Seedance and ElevenLabs | — | |
| A pay-as-you-go API with avatar and lip-sync video, plus MCP and CLI access | — | |
| Credits and the API wallet | Studio credits are charged by the length of video generated and reset every cycle, while the API draws on a separate prepaid dollar balance. | Pick the surface first: a subscription for interactive work, the API for programmatic volume. Neither page gives a Studio credit rate per second. |
| Ownership and licence | The Terms leave ownership of inputs and outputs with you and give Hedra a broad licence to use them to run the service. | Read the licence if you upload client material. |
| Who you can animate | The Acceptable Use Policy bars photos, audio and video of people other than yourself and misleading deepfakes. | This narrows avatar use to your own likeness or fictional characters; confirm the exact reading with Hedra. |
Is Hedra free?
The pricing page says to start free but lists no free plan and no free credit amount; the cheapest card is Basic at $20 a month. Its FAQ adds that a cancelled account keeps limited watermarked generations, so a free tier of some size exists, but this profile cannot say how large it is. Treat free use as unconfirmed until you sign up and read your own credit balance.
What does Hedra cost: Studio or API?
Hedra sells two separate things. Studio is a subscription (Basic $20, Pro $50, Ultra $100, Teams $75 a month) with monthly credits that reset each cycle; credit packs do not expire. The API is a prepaid dollar balance with no subscription, billed per second or per token, and the billing docs state Studio credits cannot fund it. Studio credits are charged by generated length, but the pages we read give no credit rate per second, so the cost of a finished clip has to be read inside the app. A rough API figure: 60 seconds of avatar video at the ‘from’ rate of 2.5 cents a second is $1.50, and the real rate depends on the model.
What is Hedra now?
The homepage now leads with model infrastructure (inference, training and a World Model Runtime), while the Studio page describes the creative product: an agent that plans and generates video, image and speech across third-party models such as Kling, Veo, Seedance and ElevenLabs, with shared Spaces, saved Elements and Skills. Older write-ups describe Hedra mainly as a talking-avatar app; the Character-3 avatar model is still listed in the API docs, but Studio is now framed as an agent workspace.
Who owns the output, and can you animate other people?
The Terms say Hedra claims no ownership of inputs or outputs, and that you grant Hedra a broad licence to use them to run the service. The Acceptable Use Policy is the stricter limit for avatar work: it forbids photos, audio or video of anyone other than yourself, and deepfakes that mislead without consent. That reads as a barrier to avatars of customers, staff or public figures, so check it before planning a presenter series.
How could you check Hedra before paying?
Proposed evaluation · not performed yet
Cost one real clip before choosing a plan.
- Write down the clip length, the model you want and how many revisions you expect.
- Sign up, note the credit balance shown, and generate one short clip of that model.
- Divide the credits spent by the seconds produced and multiply by your monthly seconds.
- Compare the result with the 2,000 credits in Basic and the 7,200 in Pro.
Accept if the cost per second is visible before generation and fits one tier. Reject if revisions use up a month of credits. No result is recorded here.
Hedra alternatives
Other video & editing tools checked with the same method. Pick by the job, not by a score.
Developers and small teams who want a conversational video avatar for support, sales or tutoring and need to budget by minutes
Short animated stories from a script or prompt
Teachers, students and math YouTubers who want 3Blue1Brown-style explainer clips from a description, with an editable Manim code playground when they want control
Creators and teams who make many AI videos and need the same characters, locations and look to carry across every one
Local image-to-video on an NVIDIA RTX GPU
Turning a finished track into a vertical or widescreen music video
People who want to try text-to-video in a browser, or run the open-source Mochi 1 model themselves
Avatar-presented videos and lip-synced video translation
Used Hedra? Write the first review. Visitor opinions are moderated and kept separate from our source checks.
Frequently asked questions
Is Hedra free to use?
The pricing page invites you to start free, but it shows no free plan or free credit amount; the cheapest listed plan is Basic at $20 a month. Cancelled accounts keep limited watermarked generations, so some free use exists, but its size is not published.
How much does Hedra cost?
Studio runs from Basic at $20 a month to Pro at $50, Ultra at $100 and Teams at $75, with Enterprise custom. The API is separate and pay-as-you-go, with avatar and lip-sync video from 2.5 cents a second.
Do Hedra credits roll over?
Subscription credits reset every billing cycle and do not carry over. Credits bought as packs do not expire and are used after plan credits run out.
Can Studio credits pay for the Hedra API?
No. The developer docs say Studio subscription credits are separate from the prepaid API wallet and do not fund API jobs.
Can I make a talking avatar of another person on Hedra?
The Acceptable Use Policy bars photos, audio or video of people other than yourself and deepfakes made without consent, so a custom avatar of a colleague or client appears to be excluded. Confirm with Hedra before building a workflow around it.
Sources and method7 official sources · 17 details checked · Oct 30, 2026
How we checked this profile
17 details on this page were checked against Hedra's own pages and help documentation (Oct 30, 2026). 3 are still open and listed below.
See the checks by section14 documented3 open
| Section | Checks | Last checked | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|
| Article text | 1 documented | hedra.com/studio | |
| Plans and prices | 8 documented 3 open | hedra.com/pricinghedra.com/billing | |
| Features | 3 documented | hedra.com/studiohedra.com/termshedra.com/acceptable-use | |
| Platforms and integrations | 2 documented | hedra.com/studiohedra.com/llms.txt |
Still open
- The pricing page's script also defines an $8 a month Go plan with 800 credits that is added only for some visitors (an offer flag); it was not on the page text we read, so it is not listed as a plan.Not confirmed · checked · Source (opens in a new tab)
- A monthly/yearly switch exists in the pricing page script; yearly amounts were not readable.Not confirmed · checked · Source (opens in a new tab)
- The pricing page says to start free, but no free plan card or free credit amount was readable.Not confirmed · checked · Source (opens in a new tab)
Sources for this profile
- Pricing page: Studio plans, API rates and credit FAQhedra.com
- Homepagehedra.com
- Studio pagehedra.com
- API billing documentationhedra.com
All 7 sources
Official pages read on 2026-10-30: homepage, pricing page (raw HTML, FAQ data and the page's script bundle, because plan cards load client-side), Studio page, the API billing and Studio help documentation, the Terms of Use (updated September 4, 2026) and the Acceptable Use Policy. We did not create an account, generate a clip or open the yearly switch, so output quality, Studio credit rates, yearly prices and what a new account receives were not observed. The Privacy and Biometric Data policies were not read. Review articles, user counts, testimonials and search-volume figures were not used.
Sources checked Oct 30, 2026. Found something out of date? See how we correct profiles.

