AI writing tools

AI assistants and marketing-content platforms that draft, revise and work through your documents; compare free access, brand controls, usage limits and seat billing.

  • 30 source-checked profiles
  • 26 with free access or a trial
  • Prices checked Sep 24 – Oct 30, 2026
AIWriteBook, ChatGPT, Claude and 27 more
Entry price · billed monthly

What the first paid plan costs

Cheapest paid plan billed month to month, in USD, as listed on each profile.

  1. YesChat$10/mo
  2. Wordtune$13.99/mo
  3. Claude$20/mo
  4. Copy.ai$29/mo
  5. Tweet Hunter$29/mo
  6. Grantable$50/mo
  7. Jasper$69/mo
Not shown — AIWriteBook, Dayora, Format Magic, Grok, JobCopilot, Merlin AI, NanoGPT, QuillBot, RedQuill, Resume Worded, Sudowrite, Swooped: monthly billing not stated; ChatGPT: no comparable monthly account charge; EarnBetter, JobHire.AI, Jobright, Namelix, Spellbook: no paid plan listed; Grammarly, Notion AI, Superhuman: priced per seat; Lorka AI: priced in EUR; TubeMagic: cheapest plan’s billing not stated. Annual billing is often cheaper; taxes and promotions can change the checkout price. Each profile shows the vendor source and check date.

AI writing tools at a glance

  • 20 of 30start with a free plan
  • $29/momedian first paid plan, billed monthly (7 tools)
  • $10/molowest monthly-billed plan: YesChat
  • 15 of 30mention credits or tokens in their plans

AI Pricing Index · New AI tools

What are AI writing tools used for?

Writing AI tools turn a brief into a draft, tighten existing copy and work through documents you supply. General assistants such as Claude and ChatGPT have permanent free plans and a USD 20-a-month paid tier. Marketing platforms such as Jasper and Copy.ai add stored brand voice and company knowledge for teams: Jasper Pro costs USD 59 a month billed yearly for one seat, and Copy.ai Chat USD 24 a month billed yearly for up to five seats. Every tier has usage limits.

Quick filters

Sudowrite

Writing & content

Sudowrite is an AI fiction-writing app with a free trial; paid plans start at $10 a month billed yearly.

Source-checked: 30 Oct 2026Pricing checked: 30 Oct 2026Price checked 9 days ago
Free trialFrom USD 22 per month

JobCopilot

Writing & content

JobCopilot auto-fills or submits job applications from company career pages; Premium starts at $0.93 per day, Elite at $1.05, with no free plan listed.

Source-checked: 25 Oct 2026Pricing checked: 25 Oct 2026Price checked 14 days ago
Paid onlyFrom From USD 0.93 per day

JobHire.AI

Writing & content

JobHire.AI applies to U.S. jobs for you with a tailored resume and cover letter; no free trial, prices after sign-up, no refunds.

Source-checked: 21 Oct 2026Pricing check incompletePrice checked 18 days ago
Paid onlySubscription only, no free trial; prices shown after sign-up

Jobright

Writing & content

Jobright matches U.S. jobs to your resume, tailors it and autofills applications; free with daily credits, Turbo priced only at checkout.

Source-checked: 21 Oct 2026Pricing check incompletePrice checked 18 days ago
Free accessFree with daily credits; Turbo subscription prices not published (shown at checkout)

EarnBetter

Writing & content

EarnBetter is now Earn Better by EarnIn: free resume rewrites, job matches and mock interviews inside the EarnIn app.

Source-checked: 21 Oct 2026Pricing checked: 21 Oct 2026Price checked 18 days ago
Free accessFree ($0); no subscription or credit card, inside the EarnIn app

Swooped

Writing & content

Swooped tailors a resume, cover letter and answers per job and autofills forms you submit; Pro is $9 for month one, then $39.

Source-checked: 21 Oct 2026Pricing checked: 21 Oct 2026Price checked 18 days ago
Free accessFrom USD 9 for the first month, then $39 per month

Dayora

Writing & content

Dayora is an AI journaling app with a free core. Plus is $6 a month until 1 November 2026, then $9 a month or $72 a year.

Source-checked: 17 Oct 2026Pricing checked: 17 Oct 2026Price checked 22 days ago
Free accessFrom USD 6 per month

AIWriteBook

Writing & content

AIWriteBook is an AI book writer. Free plan: 100 credits and a first chapter. Paid plans start at $12 a month billed yearly, or $20 monthly.

Source-checked: 17 Oct 2026Pricing checked: 17 Oct 2026Price checked 22 days ago
Free accessFrom USD 20 per month, or $12 per month billed yearly ($144 a year)

Spellbook

Writing & content

Spellbook reviews and drafts contracts in Microsoft Word. It publishes no prices; pricing is per seat by quote, with a 7-day free trial.

Source-checked: 17 Oct 2026Pricing check incompletePrice checked 22 days ago
Free trialNo public prices; per-seat quote, 7-day free trial

RedQuill

Writing & content

RedQuill is an adults-only AI erotic fiction generator with a free tier and paid plans from $13 a month; stories you publish can be remixed by others.

Source-checked: 10 Oct 2026Pricing checked: 10 Oct 2026Price checked 29 days ago
Free accessFrom USD 13 per month, or $102 billed yearly

QuillBot

Writing & content

QuillBot Free is $0 and paraphrases up to 125 words in 2 modes; Premium is $8.33 a month billed annually. Team seats start at $7.50.

Source-checked: 7 Oct 2026Pricing checked: 7 Oct 2026 · Update duePrice checked 32 days ago
Free accessFrom USD 7.50 a seat a month; $89.95 a seat billed every 12 months

Wordtune

Writing & content

Wordtune is an AI rewriting and summarizing assistant for browsers and a web editor, with plans metered by rewrites per day and summaries per month.

Source-checked: 4 Oct 2026Pricing checked: 4 Oct 2026 · Update duePrice checked 35 days ago
Free accessFrom USD 13.99 per month billed monthly; $6.99 per month billed annually

How to choose tools for writing & content

First decide whether you need a general assistant or a marketing-content platform. Claude and ChatGPT draft, revise and summarize supplied files, and both search the web with citations, so the same subscription also covers research, analysis and, on ChatGPT, image generation. Jasper and Copy.ai are built for marketing and sales teams: they store brand voice and company knowledge once and apply it to every draft. Jasper does this through Brand Voices, Audiences and knowledge assets in chat, agents and a document canvas; Copy.ai through Brand Voice, an Infobase of guidelines and multi-step Workflows that chain research, scraping and writing.

Among general assistants, the choice usually turns on limits, billing and the extras around the writing. Claude's Free plan already includes web search, file creation, Artifacts and up to five projects, and paid plans reach a context window of up to 1M tokens on the newest models, which matters for long manuscripts. ChatGPT puts image generation, voice and scheduled tasks in the same account, and its Free plan allows unlimited text chats with the basic model. Claude Pro and Max reset every five hours inside a weekly cap, Max is sold as 5x or 20x Pro's per-session usage, and OpenAI sizes ChatGPT Pro $100 as 5x Plus usage. Neither vendor publishes a message count, so watch the usage meter in your first month before moving up a tier.

Billing terms differ more than headline prices. Claude Pro can be paid yearly (USD 200, about USD 17 a month), but Max is monthly only; ChatGPT Go, Plus and Pro are monthly only, and annual billing exists only for Business seats, which drop from USD 25 to USD 20 per seat a month with a two-seat minimum. The marketing platforms price seats differently: Jasper Pro is USD 59 per seat a month billed yearly for a single seat, while Copy.ai's Chat plan costs USD 29 a month, or USD 24 billed annually, for up to five seats, and its next plan, Growth, is billed yearly at USD 12,000 for 75 seats. Neither lists a free plan on its pricing page; Jasper offers a 7-day trial that needs a credit card.

Start with a writing decision

Read the ChatGPT profile and Claude profile for plan cards, limits and sources, then use Claude vs ChatGPT for the documented differences and a yearly cost comparison. For brand-guided marketing copy, read the Jasper profile and the Copy.ai profile, and compare them in Jasper vs Copy.ai. If your draft rests on external evidence, read Claude vs Perplexity and continue to research tools and source checks before choosing.

How do these AI writing tools compare?

Free access, starting price and the date we last checked pricing, taken from each profile and listed A–Z. Not a ranking: prices keep the period, unit and currency the vendor shows.

ToolFree accessPaid plans fromPricing checkedConsider it for
AIWriteBookFree access available$20 per monthSelf-publishing authors, ghostwriters and non-fiction writers who want one place to outline, draft in their own style, edit and prepare a book for Amazon KDP
ChatGPTFree access availableNot confirmedGeneral drafting, files and everyday research
ClaudeFree access availableUSD 17 per monthDrafting, document work and coding
Copy.aiNo free tierUSD 24 per monthBrand-consistent sales and marketing content for teams
DayoraFree access available$6 per monthPeople who want a private journal that answers back and spots patterns, and who accept that entries are sent to third-party AI providers
EarnBetterFree access availableNot confirmedUS job seekers who want a free resume rewrite and job matches in one phone app
Format MagicFree access available$9.95 per monthTurning plain or AI-drafted text into templated Word and PDF documents
GrammarlyFree access availableUSD 12 per member per monthCorrecting and polishing everyday writing
GrantableFree access available$50 per monthSmall nonprofits drafting and tracking grant applications
GrokFree access available$10 per monthChat and research that needs live X and web context
JasperFree trial onlyUSD 59 per monthOn-brand marketing copy with stored brand context
JobCopilotNo free tierFrom $0.93 per dayJob seekers who want daily job matching and application forms handled for them, with the option to review each answer before it is sent
JobHire.AINo free tierNot confirmedHanding off high-volume U.S. job applications to an auto-apply service
JobrightFree access availableNot confirmedFinding and applying to U.S. jobs with matched listings and autofilled forms
Lorka AIFree trial onlyEUR 29.99 per monthSwitching between several chat models under one subscription
Merlin AIFree access available$15 per seat a monthTrying several AI models from one account, mainly through a browser extension
NamelixFree access availableNot confirmedShortlisting brand names before buying a domain
NanoGPTFree access available$12 per monthPay-per-use access to many AI models without separate subscriptions
Notion AIFree trial onlyUSD 10 per member per monthAI help inside a Notion team workspace
QuillBotFree access available$7.50 a seat a month; $89.95 a seat billed every 12 monthsStudents and writers who rewrite their own short passages and want to review each change
RedQuillFree access available$13 per monthAdults writing private AI-generated fiction
Resume WordedFree access available$49 per monthJob seekers who want a resume score and line-by-line fixes
SpellbookFree trial onlyNot confirmedTransactional lawyers and in-house legal teams who review and draft contracts in Word
SudowriteFree trial only$22 per monthNovelists and fiction writers who want AI help drafting scenes, planning a story and editing a long manuscript
SuperhumanFree access available$12 per member a month billed annually; $15 billed monthlyTeams that live in Gmail or Outlook and will pay per seat to triage email faster, or individuals who want a free AI assistant across apps
SwoopedFree access available$9 for the first monthTailoring a resume, cover letter and form answers for each job you apply to
TubeMagicNo free tier$41 per month shownDrafting YouTube scripts, titles, descriptions and tags in one paid tool
Tweet HunterFree trial only$29 per monthWriting, scheduling and analyzing posts for X accounts
WordtuneFree access available$13.99 per month billed monthly; $6.99 per month billed annuallyRewriting and adjusting the tone of your own drafts in the browser
YesChatFree access available$10 per monthTrying several chat models under one metered balance

What to compare before you pick one

  • Assistant or marketing platformClaude and ChatGPT cover writing alongside research, files and code; Jasper and Copy.ai focus on marketing and sales content and keep brand voice and product facts for reuse.
  • Billing termCheck whether the plan you want can be paid yearly: Claude Pro can, while Claude Max and ChatGPT's Go, Plus and Pro plans are monthly only. Yearly Jasper Pro is a 12-month commitment paid up front.
  • Usage ceilingHigher Claude and ChatGPT tiers are sold as multiples of a base allowance (5x or 20x) rather than message counts, so note how often you hit the base limit today before paying for a multiple.
  • Free-plan scopeMatch Free to your task: Claude Free covers web search, file creation and five projects; ChatGPT Free gives unlimited basic-model chats but limited uploads and deep research. Jasper and Copy.ai list no free plan.
  • Long documentsFor books, reports or contracts, check the context window of the model and plan you would use; Claude lists up to 1M tokens on paid plans with the newest models.
  • Seats and sharingClaude Team and ChatGPT Business cost USD 20 per seat a month billed annually and skip training on your content by default. Copy.ai Chat includes five seats, while Jasper Pro is one seat and collaboration needs custom-priced Business.
  • Cross-product limitsA 5x label refers to that vendor's own base plan; it does not measure equivalent work across Claude and ChatGPT.

Our editorial judgement about what matters in this category, based on the plan structures we documented while building these profiles.

Where buyers get caught out

  • Claude documents unused annual Pro credit when upgrading to Max with the same billing address; confirm the upgrade route and app-store terms rather than assuming the annual payment is lost.
  • ChatGPT Go, the cheapest paid tier, may show ads; OpenAI lists it at EUR 8 a month in Germany and shows local prices elsewhere.
  • ChatGPT Business adds workspace administration and has a two-seat minimum; it is not an automatic capacity upgrade for a solo Pro user. Check the specific feature allowance and any eligible additional-credit route before switching.
  • A Claude subscription does not cover the Claude API; an ANTHROPIC_API_KEY set on your computer switches Claude Code to API billing.
  • Jasper's trial rolls into a paid subscription unless cancelled, and annual plans cannot be cancelled after a 7-day window.
  • Jasper keeps API access, Grid and custom agents for Business, and does not publish how many credits Business includes.
  • Copy.ai jumps from the five-seat Chat plan straight to Growth at USD 1,000 a month on a yearly contract, and refunds apply only within five days of the first purchase.

Questions about writing & content tools

Are AI writing tools free?

The general assistants are. Claude Free includes web search, file creation, Artifacts and up to five projects; ChatGPT Free offers unlimited text chats with the basic model, with limited uploads, image generation and deep research. Jasper has a 7-day trial instead of a free plan, and Copy.ai's pricing page shows no free plan.

What should I check before choosing a free AI writing plan?

Check what the free plan covers and where it stops. Claude Free includes web search, file creation, Artifacts and up to five projects; ChatGPT Free allows unlimited basic-model chats but limited uploads, image generation and deep research. Jasper offers a 7-day trial that needs a credit card and rolls into a paid plan unless cancelled; Copy.ai's pricing page shows no free plan.

How much do paid writing plans cost?

Claude Pro and ChatGPT Plus both cost USD 20 billed monthly, and Claude Pro falls to about USD 17 a month on the yearly plan. Heavy users pay USD 100 a month for Claude Max 5x or ChatGPT Pro $100. Jasper Pro is USD 69 a month (USD 59 billed yearly) for one seat; Copy.ai Chat is USD 29 a month (USD 24 billed yearly) for up to five seats.

Should I pick a general assistant or a marketing writing tool?

Pick Claude or ChatGPT when one subscription should also cover research, long documents, code or images. Pick Jasper or Copy.ai when a marketing team repeats the same content types and wants brand voice, audiences and product facts applied without pasting them into each prompt; Copy.ai also chains research and writing into Workflows.

Should I pick Claude or ChatGPT for writing?

Pick Claude when writing and coding share one subscription, when you work through long documents, or when you want the yearly Pro discount. Pick ChatGPT when the same account should also create images, take voice input on the desktop and run scheduled tasks.

Can a small team share one writing tool?

Yes. Claude Team serves 2 to 150 people at USD 20 per seat a month billed annually or USD 25 monthly, and ChatGPT Business has the same seat prices with a two-seat minimum; both offer Premium seats with five times a Standard seat's usage. Copy.ai's Chat plan includes five seats in one price, and its Growth plan covers up to 75 seats for USD 1,000 a month billed yearly. Jasper Pro is a single seat, so a team needs Jasper Business, priced through sales.

What should a small team compare when choosing an AI writing assistant?

Compare seats, billing term and usage limits before features. Claude Team and ChatGPT Business cost USD 20 per seat a month billed annually, and both skip training on your content by default; ChatGPT Business has a two-seat minimum. Copy.ai Chat includes five seats in one price, while Jasper Pro is a single seat and shared work needs custom-priced Business.

Keep looking

Not the right category? Browse every tool in the directory, put two options side by side, or read how we check and correct these profiles.