Use AI for XFor makers
Use AI for X
Choose AI tools with sources, not hype.
Compare side by side For makers

Genmo

Source-checked

in Video & editing · 51 tools compared

Text-to-video playground built on Genmo's open-source Mochi 1 model, with a credit-based free plan

Genmo is a research lab's text-to-video Playground built on Mochi 1, an open-source model you can run yourself. Free is $0 with 250 lifetime credits and a Genmo watermark; a Mochi video costs 100 credits and a Replay video 50, so Free covers about two Mochi videos. Lite is $10 a month for 1,200 credits and Standard $30 for 5,000, both without a watermark and with commercial use. The Terms bar commercial use of outputs made without a paid plan.

  • Free plan$0 / month
  • Paid from$10 / month

Free includes: 250 lifetime credits, unlocked by adding a payment method that the page says is never charged; videos carry a Genmo watermark. A Mochi video costs 100 credits and a Replay video 50.

Runs on Web

Works with Mochi 1 open-source model on GitHub and Hugging Face · ComfyUI

Prices and limits checked against 4 official sources · how we check

Genmo homepage screenshot showing the official landing page
Official homepagegenmo.aiCaptured

Is Genmo your product? Send updates or get featured. Paid placement never changes this profile.

What is Genmo, in short?

Updated October 25, 2026 · By Elias Brandt · Documentation review, not tested hands-on

Pros

  • Free way in
  • Open-source model
  • Commercial use is spelled out
  • Watermark-free paid tiers

Cons

  • Prices load late
  • No commercial use on Free
  • Broad content licence
  • Short retention and no refunds
  • Payment method for free credits

Best forCreators testing text-to-videoDevelopers who want an open video modelNot for client work on the free planNot for anyone who needs yearly totals up front

Strengths, limits and who it suits, in full

Strengths

  • Free way in Free is $0 with 250 lifetime credits, enough for a few test videos.
  • Open-source model Mochi 1 is Apache 2.0, so you can run it yourself instead of spending credits.
  • Commercial use is spelled out The pricing page lists commercial usage on Lite and Standard, and the Terms tie it to a paid plan.
  • Watermark-free paid tiers Lite and Standard remove the Genmo watermark.

Limits

  • Prices load late The Lite and Standard amounts appear only after the page loads in a browser; the page source shows 'Loading...'.
  • No commercial use on Free The Terms bar commercial use of outputs unless they were made during an active paid subscription, and Free carries a watermark.
  • Broad content licence Genmo takes a perpetual licence to inputs and outputs for any purpose, including training and improving its services.
  • Short retention and no refunds Outputs are kept 7 days, subscription payments are non-refundable and accounts idle 90 days without a paid plan may be deleted.
  • Payment method for free credits The 250 free credits unlock only after adding a payment method, which the page says is never charged.

Who it suits

  • Creators testing text-to-video The free credits cover a handful of Mochi or Replay videos before paying.
  • Developers who want an open video model Mochi 1 is Apache 2.0 with a GitHub repository and Hugging Face weights.
  • Not for client work on the free plan The Terms bar commercial use of outputs made without a paid plan.
  • Not for anyone who needs yearly totals up front The page prints annual savings but no yearly price.

How much does Genmo cost?

Prices confirmed · checked

Credit allowances by plan
Lite 1,200per month
Standard 5,000per month
Regional prices: Prices are US dollars from the official pricing page read on 2026-10-25, excluding tax if any is added at checkout (not stated).

The pricing page fills the Lite and Standard amounts in client-side; they are absent from the page HTML and the fetched text but visible in the rendered screenshot captured on 2026-10-25. The page prints annual savings ($24 a year on Lite, $60 on Standard) but no yearly total, so none is stated; a 20% off label is shown on the Yearly toggle. Credits per month means the balance resets to that number each month. The 250 free credits are a one-time grant unlocked by adding a payment method. The Terms (last updated October 16, 2026) tie commercial use of outputs to an active paid subscription that authorizes it and say plans and prices can change with reasonable notice.

PlanPriceWhat you get
Free$0 per month sourceFrom genmo.ai/pricing, checked Oct 25, 2026 (opens in a new tab)250 lifetime credits, unlocked by adding a payment method that the page says is never charged; videos carry a Genmo watermark. A Mochi video costs 100 credits and a Replay video 50.
Lite$10 per month sourceFrom genmo.ai/pricing, checked Oct 25, 2026 (opens in a new tab)1,200 credits a month, reset monthly; no watermark, commercial usage, high queue priority. The page says an annual plan saves $24 a year.
Standard$30 per month sourceFrom genmo.ai/pricing, checked Oct 25, 2026 (opens in a new tab)5,000 credits a month, reset monthly; no watermark, commercial usage, highest queue priority and early model access. The page says an annual plan saves $60 a year.

Which plan fits?

Smallest plan whose monthly credits cover your number with 15% spare for regenerations. Arithmetic from the plan table above, not a usage test.

How far does it go?

  • Test clips on each planAt the listed costs, Free's 250 credits cover 2 Mochi videos (200 credits) with 50 left for 1 Replay video, or 5 Replay videos. Lite's 1,200 monthly credits cover 12 Mochi or 24 Replay videos for $10 (about $0.83 per Mochi video), and Standard's 5,000 cover 50 Mochi or 100 Replay videos for $30 (about $0.60 per Mochi video). Arithmetic on published plan and credit figures, not a statement by Genmo; the base subscription is counted, no overage is listed, and clip length and resolution are not published.

Arithmetic from the published allowances above, not a usage test.

Genmo official pricing page screenshot with plan names
Official pricing pagegenmo.aiCaptured

Taxes, currency and promotions can change the price you see at checkout.

Try Genmo free (opens in a new tab)

Key features

FeatureWhat it doesWatch out
Browser Playground that turns a written prompt into a video, with example prompts on the homepage—
Mochi 1, an open-source text-to-video model released under Apache 2.0 on GitHub and Hugging FaceMochi 1 can be downloaded and run locally under Apache 2.0, while the Playground is a hosted service under the Terms.The open-source licence and the paid-service output rules are separate; running locally needs your own hardware and setup.
Two hosted video options priced separately: Mochi video at 100 credits and Replay video at 50A Mochi video costs 100 credits and a Replay video 50, so the 250 free credits cover two Mochi videos or five Replay videos.The page does not state clip length, resolution or what a failed generation costs, so credits cannot be turned into seconds of video.
Higher paid tiers add queue priority, and Standard adds early model access—
Local use of Mochi 1 through the open-source repository or ComfyUI, which does not use Genmo credits—
Output rulesOutputs made without a paid subscription may not be used commercially, and files are kept only 7 days.Download what you keep and use a paid plan before using clips in client or advertising work.

Is Genmo free?

Partly. The pricing page lists Free at $0 a month with 250 lifetime credits that unlock by adding a payment method, which the page says is never charged. Free videos carry a Genmo watermark. Each Mochi video uses 100 credits and each Replay video 50, so the grant covers two Mochi videos or five Replay videos. The page does not say how long a clip is.

Can you use Genmo videos commercially?

Only from a paid plan. The Terms of Service say you will not use outputs commercially unless they were generated during an active paid subscription that expressly authorizes it, and the pricing page lists commercial usage on Lite and Standard. Free outputs are therefore personal use. Pika draws a similar line: its Pika profile lists no commercial license on Starter at $10 a month, and Creator at $35 a month is the first plan that includes one. Mochi 1 itself is a separate matter: the About page says the open-source release is Apache 2.0 for individual and commercial use, and that applies to the model you run yourself.

What do Lite and Standard cost?

Lite is $10 a month and Standard $30 a month on the pricing page. Lite gives 1,200 credits a month, enough for 12 Mochi videos at 100 credits, and Standard gives 5,000, enough for 50. Both drop the watermark and list commercial usage; Standard adds the highest queue priority and early model access. The page says an annual plan saves $24 a year on Lite and $60 on Standard but prints no yearly total. The amounts load after the page opens, so the page source shows only ‘Loading…’.

What should you know before uploading prompts and images?

The Terms give Genmo a perpetual, irrevocable licence to use your inputs and outputs for any purpose, including training and improving its services. Outputs are kept for 7 days, subscription payments are non-refundable and accounts inactive for 90 days without a paid plan may be deleted with unused credits. Download what matters and avoid uploading material you cannot license.

How could you check Genmo before paying?

Proposed evaluation · not performed yet

Use the free credits on one real brief.

  1. Add the payment method and note the credits shown.
  2. Run the same prompt as a Mochi video and a Replay video and record the credits each spent and the clip length.
  3. Check whether the watermark and quality suit your use.
  4. Compare the $10 and $30 plans with the clips you need a month.

Accept if costs match the pricing page and the clip length fits your brief. Reject if the credits spent exceed the listed costs. No result is recorded here.

Genmo alternatives

Other video & editing tools checked with the same method. Pick by the job, not by a score.

Free access availableFrom $9.99 / month

Teachers, students and math YouTubers who want 3Blue1Brown-style explainer clips from a description, with an editable Manim code playground when they want control

Free trial onlyFrom $4.7 / month shown

Teams and creators who want short talking-avatar videos or an embedded avatar agent, and who accept metered minutes and a watermark on lower plans

All AI video & editing toolsCompare tools side by side

Used Genmo? Write the first review. Visitor opinions are moderated and kept separate from our source checks.

Frequently asked questions

Is Genmo free?

Partly. Free is $0 a month with 250 lifetime credits, unlocked by adding a payment method that the pricing page says is never charged, and videos carry a Genmo watermark. Each Mochi video uses 100 credits and each Replay video 50.

How much do Genmo Lite and Standard cost?

Lite is $10 a month for 1,200 credits and Standard is $30 a month for 5,000, both without a watermark and with commercial usage. The pricing page says an annual plan saves $24 a year on Lite and $60 on Standard; it prints no yearly total.

Can I use Genmo videos commercially?

Only if they were made during an active paid subscription that authorizes it. The Terms bar commercial use otherwise, and the pricing page lists commercial usage on Lite and Standard but not Free.

Is Genmo's Mochi 1 model open source?

Yes. The About page says Mochi 1 is released under Apache 2.0 for individual and commercial use, with code on GitHub and weights on Hugging Face. The hosted Playground is a separate service under the Terms.

How long does Genmo keep my videos?

Outputs are available for 7 days after they are generated and may then be deleted, so download what you want to keep.

Sources and method4 official sources · 8 details checked · Oct 25, 2026

How we checked this profile

8 details on this page were checked against Genmo's own pages and help documentation (Oct 25, 2026).

See the checks by section8 documented
SectionChecksLast checkedSources
Article text1 documentedgenmo.ai
Features1 documentedgenmo.ai/about
Plans and prices3 documentedgenmo.ai/pricing
Strengths and limits3 documentedgenmo.ai/terms-of-service

Sources for this profile

Official pages read on 2026-10-25: homepage, pricing page (HTML, the official-page fetcher and a rendered screenshot, which is the only place the Lite and Standard amounts appear), Terms of Service and About page. We did not create an account, generate a video or check what the Playground returns, so video quality, clip length, speed and the free-credit unlock were not observed. The Privacy Policy was not read. Review articles, user counts and search-volume figures were not used.

Sources checked Oct 25, 2026. Found something out of date? See how we correct profiles.

Back to top