Use AI for XFor makers
Use AI for X
Choose AI tools with sources, not hype.
Compare side by side For makers

iAsk

Source-checked

in Research & sources · 17 tools compared

Separate the free model from the Pro quota

iAsk is an AI search and answer engine from Ai Search Inc. that returns cited answers and summarizes pages and documents. Free allows unlimited daily searches on the standard, non-Pro model, with limited ads. iAsk Pro, at $9.95 a month, adds 300 Pro-model searches a day, document analysis, file upload to the summarizer, the video tutor and no ads. Students with a school email can get Pro free for a year during a limited offer.

  • Free plan$0
  • Paid from$9.95 / month

Free includes: Unlimited daily searches on the standard, non-Pro model, with limited ads; writing tool, AI Summarizer for URLs and text, search history and AI assistant.

Runs on Web · iOS app · Chrome extension

Works with API

Prices and limits checked against 6 official sources · how we check

iAsk homepage screenshot showing the official landing page
Official homepageiask.aiCaptured

Is iAsk your product? Send updates or get featured. Paid placement never changes this profile.

iAsk: free unlimited standard searches with ads; Pro at $9.95 a month adds 300 daily Pro searches and file upload

Updated September 29, 2026 · By Elias Brandt · Documentation review, not tested hands-on

Pros

  • Usable free tier
  • Low Pro price
  • Sources shown with answers

Cons

  • Chats may be recorded
  • Ads on Free
  • Thin legal terms

Bottom line

iAsk Free plan

Unlimited daily searches on the standard, non-Pro model, with limited ads; writing tool, AI Summarizer for URLs and text, search history and AI assistant.

Choose iAsk if

You want quick sourced answers or page summaries for study questions and will open each cited page before using it, since the free plan already covers unlimited standard-model searches.

Skip it if

You need an answer you can cite directly or rely on without checking, because the terms give no accuracy warranty and describe output as informational only.

Best forStudents checking factsReaders summarizing long pagesHeavy daily researchersDevelopers adding Q and A to an app

Strengths, limits and who it suits, in full

Strengths

  • Usable free tier Free lists unlimited daily searches on the standard model, without a card.
  • Low Pro price Pro is $9.95 a month, with a one-year free offer for students.
  • Sources shown with answers Answers link to the pages used, which makes checking faster.

Limits

  • Chats may be recorded The privacy policy says chat inputs and transcripts may be collected, stored and shared with vendors.
  • Ads on Free The free plan shows limited ads, and the privacy policy allows targeted advertising.
  • Thin legal terms The terms do not name a country or address and do not describe billing, refunds or cancellation.

Who it suits

  • Students checking facts fits quick sourced answers, provided every citation is opened before it goes into coursework.
  • Readers summarizing long pages the URL summarizer is on Free; uploading files for summaries needs Pro.
  • Heavy daily researchers 300 Pro searches a day is a real cap, so count your usage in the first week.
  • Developers adding Q and A to an app the API is priced per 1,000 responses and is separate from the Pro subscription.

How much does iAsk cost?

Prices confirmed · checked

Regional prices: Prices are shown in USD per month; no yearly option is listed.

The student FAQ quotes Pro at typically $9.99 a month, while the pricing page shows $9.95. The API is billed separately per 1,000 responses: $1.20 for Basic, $6 for Regular and $12 for Advanced, which includes iAsk Pro. The terms let the operator enforce quotas and change fees without notice.

PlanPriceWhat you get
iAsk Free$0 sourceFrom iask.ai/pricing, checked Sep 29, 2026 (opens in a new tab)Unlimited daily searches on the standard, non-Pro model, with limited ads; writing tool, AI Summarizer for URLs and text, search history and AI assistant.
iAsk Pro$9.95 per month sourceFrom iask.ai/pricing, checked Sep 29, 2026 (opens in a new tab)300 Pro-model searches a day; Document Analyzer; file upload for the summarizer; live AI video tutor; no ads.
Students (limited-time offer)$0 for one year sourceFrom iask.ai/pricing, checked Sep 29, 2026 (opens in a new tab)iAsk Pro with a .edu or .ac email address and no credit card; the end date of the offer and the price after the year are not stated.

How far does it go?

  • Pro quota over a month300 Pro searches a day × 30 days = 9,000 Pro searches in a 30-day month for $9.95. At the Advanced API rate of $12 per 1,000 responses, 9,000 responses would cost 9 × $12 = $108. This is list-price arithmetic for scale, not a comparison of answer quality or equal features.

Arithmetic from the published allowances above, not a usage test.

iAsk official pricing page screenshot with plan names
Official pricing pageiask.aiCaptured

Taxes, currency and promotions can change the price you see at checkout.

Try iAsk free (opens in a new tab)

Key features

FeatureWhat it doesWatch out
Cited answers to natural-language questions—
Response detail levels and subject modes such as finance, business and law—
AI Summarizer for URLs and pasted text—
Document Analyzer for uploaded papers and files on Pro—
Writing tool and search history—
Live AI video tutor on Pro—
Pay-per-response API with three model levels—
Answer engineAnswers a question in prose and links the sources it used.The terms say output is for informational purposes only, with no accuracy warranty, so open the cited pages.
Pro searchesRuns questions on the Pro model, which the provider promotes with benchmark scores.Pro allows 300 of these searches a day; Free uses the standard model only.
Summarizer and document analysisCondenses a URL or text into bullet points and answers questions about uploaded files.File upload to the summarizer and the Document Analyzer are Pro features.
iAsk features page screenshot showing the product interface
Official siteiask.aiCaptured

What does the free plan actually include?

Free lists unlimited daily searches on the standard, non-Pro model, with limited ads. It also includes the writing tool, the AI Summarizer for URLs and pasted text, search history and a general AI assistant. The Pro model, file uploads to the summarizer, the Document Analyzer and the video tutor are not part of it.

The free plan card also lists Companion AI, described by the provider as 24/7 mental health support. A chatbot is not a clinician, so anyone in distress should contact a local crisis line or a qualified professional rather than rely on it.

How far do 300 Pro searches a day go?

Pro caps Pro-model searches at 300 a day, which is generous for one person studying but finite for someone running many follow-ups on a long project. The pricing page does not say whether searches beyond the cap fall back to the standard model or stop until the next day.

The terms also let the operator enforce quotas and throttle usage at its sole discretion, with or without notice. They forbid sharing one account among several people to avoid fees, so a household or study group needs separate accounts rather than one shared Pro login.

How should you read the accuracy claims?

The provider promotes Pro with benchmark results, but the figures change from page to page: 85.85% on MMLU-Pro and 78.28% on GPQA on the pricing page, 86.55% on MMLU on the homepage, and 93.89% on MMLU with 90.1% on TruthfulQA in the student FAQ. These are self-reported scores on different tests and do not show how an answer to your question will turn out.

The terms are more cautious than the marketing. They make no warranty on the accuracy of output and say it is for informational purposes only. Treat each answer as a pointer to its sources, and quote the original document rather than the generated summary.

What happens to your questions and chats?

The homepage says iAsk answers questions without storing student data and claims no personal data or conversation harvesting. The privacy policy, which governs the service, is broader: it says chat inputs and transcripts may be collected, monitored, stored and recorded by iAsk and its third-party vendors, along with device and usage data.

The same policy allows targeted advertising through third-party ad companies, sharing with advertisers and investors for business analysis, and sending search queries to the YouTube Data API. Keep names, grades, health details and unpublished work out of your questions, since the policy, not the homepage slogan, sets what can happen to them.

Is the student year of Pro really free?

The student page offers one year of Pro with a .edu or .ac email and says no credit card is required. It is described as a limited-time offer without an end date, and the page does not explain what happens when the year ends. Without stored card details, an automatic charge is unlikely, but the terms do not say how the account is treated afterwards.

The student FAQ quotes the regular price as typically $9.99 a month, while the pricing page shows $9.95. Check the price on the checkout screen if you decide to continue after the free year.

When does the API make more sense than Pro?

The API is a separate product billed per response rather than per month: $1.20 per 1,000 responses on Basic, $6 on Regular and $12 on Advanced, the level that includes the iAsk Pro model. Regular adds a question mode, and all tiers are pitched at developers building search or content tools.

  • Use Pro for your own reading and study within 300 Pro searches a day.
  • Use the API when another application needs answers programmatically.
  • Budget the API from expected responses, not from the Pro subscription price.

Do the citations actually support the answers?

Proposed evaluation · not performed yet

Use a Free account and five factual questions whose answers you have already confirmed in primary sources, such as a statute date, a government statistic and a published study result. No Pro searches or uploads are needed.

  1. Record the date, plan and response detail level used.
  2. Ask each question once and save the answer with its citations.
  3. Open every cited link and find the sentence that supports the answer.
  4. Mark each answer as supported, partly supported or unsupported by its own sources.
  5. Repeat one question to see whether the answer or sources change.

Accept the result if every answer matches the known fact and at least one citation contains the supporting statement. Reject answers whose links do not contain the claim or point to pages that fail to load. Leave the observed scores blank until the questions are run.

For cited research with source filters and follow-up threads, compare Perplexity. For answers drawn only from academic papers, see Consensus or Elicit.

Is iAsk worth it?

Documentation review plus dated public user reports. Documentation review, not tested hands-on. Not scored.

Worth it if

  • You want quick sourced answers or page summaries for study questions and will open each cited page before using it, since the free plan already covers unlimited standard-model searches.
  • You are a student with a .edu or .ac email and want to try Pro for a year without a card, accepting that the offer's end date and the price afterwards are not stated.
  • You need document analysis or file upload for summaries and a daily cap of 300 Pro searches is enough for your own reading.

Probably not if

  • You need an answer you can cite directly or rely on without checking, because the terms give no accuracy warranty and describe output as informational only.
  • You will type sensitive details such as names, grades or health information, because the privacy policy lets chats be stored and shared with vendors.
  • You want to share one Pro login across a group or run unlimited follow-ups, because the terms forbid account sharing and let the operator enforce quotas.

iAsk alternatives

Other research & sources tools checked with the same method. Pick by the job, not by a score.

All AI research & sources toolsCompare tools side by side

Used iAsk? Write the first review. Visitor opinions are moderated and kept separate from our source checks.

Frequently asked questions

Is iAsk the same as other apps and sites named iAsk?

No. Searches for the name also return an unrelated forum at iask.org and mobile apps from other developers with similar names. The AI answer engine covered here runs at iask.ai under Ai Search Inc., and its footer links to its own iOS app and Chrome extension, so install from those links.

Does iAsk work on a phone or inside the browser?

Yes. The site links an iOS app and a Chrome extension called iAsk Search, and it also runs in a mobile browser. The Pro plan lists a camera feature on mobile web and iOS as coming soon, so photo-based questions are not yet part of what the subscription delivers.

Is there an age limit for using iAsk?

The terms require users to be over 13, and the privacy policy says the service does not knowingly collect data from children under 13. Accounts must belong to a human, and accounts created by automated methods are not permitted. California residents under 18 can ask for removal of content they posted publicly.

Can I cite iAsk as a source in an essay?

It is safer not to. The terms describe the output as informational only and give no accuracy warranty, so the generated answer is not a stable, checkable source. Cite the underlying pages or papers that iAsk links to, and follow your school rules on declaring AI assistance.

How do I get my iAsk data deleted?

The privacy policy says that when you ask to terminate your account, it will be deactivated or deleted from active databases, while some information may be kept to prevent fraud, investigate problems or meet legal duties. Send the request through the contact form linked in the site footer and keep a copy.

Sources and method6 official sources · 6 details checked · Sep 29, 2026

How we checked this profile

6 details on this page were checked against iAsk's own pages and help documentation (Sep 29, 2026).

See the checks by section6 documented
SectionChecksLast checkedSources
Plans and prices3 documentediask.ai/pricingiask.ai/api
Article text1 documentediask.ai/students
Strengths and limits1 documentediask.ai/privacy
Features1 documentediask.ai/terms_of_use

Sources for this profile

All 6 sources

The terms and privacy policy name Ai Search Inc. but give no country or address, and the terms contain no billing, refund or cancellation section. The homepage says answers come without storing student data, while the privacy policy says chat inputs and transcripts may be collected, stored and shared with third-party vendors. Benchmark figures differ between pages (MMLU-Pro 85.85%, MMLU 86.55% and 93.89%) and are provider-reported. The student FAQ gives $9.99 against $9.95 on the pricing page.

Sources checked Sep 29, 2026. Found something out of date? See how we correct profiles.

Back to top