Arena: free by its terms today with no price list, and Direct, Side by Side and image modes need a login
Updated September 30, 2026 · By Elias Brandt · Documentation review, not tested hands-on
Pros
- Free access per the terms
- Method documented in public
- Leaderboards need no login
Cons
- No published price or credit size
- Prompts are shared beyond Arena
- Terms allow future charges
Bottom line
You want to put two answers to the same prompt side by side and judge them yourself, since Battle Mode and Side by Side need no paid plan.
You need a fixed price or guaranteed free allowance, because the terms reserve the right to charge and no credit size is published.
Best forModel comparersReaders of AI rankingsDevelopers trying agent workflowsResearchers
Strengths, limits and who it suits, in full
Strengths
- Free access per the terms The terms state the service is currently free of charge and the credit help page describes a daily free balance.
- Method documented in public The FAQ and help pages explain the voting model, anonymity and which modes affect rankings.
- Leaderboards need no login Rankings and filters can be browsed without an account.
Limits
- No published price or credit size The pricing URL shows a not-found page and the daily credit amount is not stated.
- Prompts are shared beyond Arena Inputs go to third-party model providers, and conversations can feed de-identified public datasets.
- Terms allow future charges The terms reserve the right to charge for the service or any feature.
Who it suits
- Model comparers Battle and Side by Side put two answers to the same prompt next to each other with no plan to buy.
- Readers of AI rankings useful for learning how preference-vote leaderboards are built before citing one.
- Developers trying agent workflows Agent Mode can connect a GitHub repository and return a pull request, which suits code tasks.
- Researchers the open datasets and papers listed on the How It Works page are a starting point for study.
How much does Arena cost?
Prices not confirmed · checked
Regional prices: The arena.ai/pricing address returned a not-found page when checked, so there is no official price list to quote.
The only price statement is in the Terms of Use: the company currently offers the service free of charge and retains the right to charge for the service or any feature. Arena sells AI evaluations to enterprises, model labs and developers, and no price for that is published. Any future charge, credit size or paid tier is not confirmed.
| Plan | Price | What you get |
|---|---|---|
| Free access (per Terms of Use) | Free of charge per the terms; no public price list sourceFrom help.arena.ai/articles/5629909088-terms-of-use, checked Sep 30, 2026 (opens in a new tab) | Daily usage credits refresh after a 24-hour period that starts with your first prompt; the amount is not published. Battle Mode in Text and Code Arena does not use them. Logged-in accounts get higher rate limits than logged-out use. No paid plan is published (not confirmed). |
Taxes, currency and promotions can change the price you see at checkout.
Visit Arena (opens in a new tab)
Key features
| Feature | What it does | Watch out |
|---|---|---|
| Battle Mode: two anonymous models answer one prompt and you vote | Sends one prompt to two anonymous models, reveals their names after you vote and resamples new models for the next answer. | Only votes cast while names are hidden count toward rankings, and follow-up context can reset when matchups change. |
| Side by Side and Direct modes to pick named models yourself | Side by Side compares two models you choose; Direct chats with one model and has no voting. | Both need an account, and Side by Side votes do not feed the public leaderboard although prompts are still collected for research. |
| Agent Mode for multi-step tasks with web search, file work and a sandbox | Plans a multi-step job and uses web search, image generation, file writing and a sandbox, then delivers files as a zip or a GitHub pull request. | The orchestrator model is not revealed after feedback, and the help text calls it usually unnecessary for simple single-step questions. |
| Public leaderboards ranked by human preference votes, viewable without login | — | |
| Image, video, search and web-app arenas beyond text chat | — | |
| File upload, chat history and GitHub repository connection for logged-in use | — |
Why do Chatbot Arena, LMArena and Arena all appear?
They are one product under three names. The team announced on 28 January 2026 that LMArena is now Arena at arena.ai, dropping the LM. The About page describes a platform created by UC Berkeley researchers and previously known as Chatbot Arena, and the company behind it is Arena Intelligence Inc. Older articles and links may use either earlier name.
Is Arena free, and where is the price list?
There is no price list. The address arena.ai/pricing returned a page saying it could not be found when checked, and no plan table appears on the site. The only statement about cost is in the Terms of Use: the company currently offers the service free of charge and retains the right to charge for the service or any features of it.
So free is a present condition, not a promise. Arena says it sustains itself by selling AI evaluations to enterprises, model labs and developers, and it publishes no price for those. Treat any figure from a third-party directory as unconfirmed, and re-read the terms before relying on free access for regular work.
How do the daily credits work?
Arena gives each user a daily balance of usage credits that can be used for free. The first prompt starts a 24-hour usage period, an indicator appears in the text bar as the limit approaches, and after it is reached a message shows a countdown to the refresh. Text and Code Arena Battle Mode usage does not count against the balance.
The size of the balance is not published, so it cannot be converted into a number of prompts. The account help page says logged-in use has higher rate limits than logged-out use, again without figures. Expect limits to change and check the in-app indicator instead of planning around a fixed allowance.
Which mode should you use, and which ones need an account?
Battle Mode is the default on the homepage. Direct, Side by Side, Image Arena and Video Arena require login, according to the account help page. The modes differ in what happens to your vote, which matters if you care about contributing to the rankings.
- Battle Mode: two anonymous models; names appear after the vote; only votes cast while names are hidden count toward official rankings.
- Side by Side: two models you choose; matchups are not anonymous and votes do not count toward the public leaderboard, though prompts are collected for research.
- Direct: one model at a time with no voting; prompts are still collected for research.
- Agent Mode: a multi-step workflow at arena.ai/agent that can use web search, image generation and a sandbox, with file uploads and a downloadable workspace.
How should the leaderboard be read?
Arena leaderboards rank models by how often they are preferred in head-to-head votes. The FAQ says ratings come from the Bradley-Terry system, similar to Elo, with extra adjustments such as style control. The help page lists columns for rank, rank spread, a score with a confidence interval, vote count and token price. Tabs cover text, code, vision, document, image, search and video, with expert, occupational and factuality filters.
Ranks, scores and model positions are left out here because they change often and depend on the filter chosen. The Agent leaderboard is built differently, from single-agent session signals and causal tracing rather than pairwise votes. Rankings measure preference among voters on the prompts they typed, so check a model on your own task before choosing it.
What happens to your prompts, files and chat history?
Under the terms you consent to Arena sharing your content with third-party AI providers to complete requests, and those providers may not be required to keep it confidential. You keep ownership, but you grant Arena a broad, perpetual license to use it, including for improving the service and for marketing. The FAQ adds that conversations can appear in public research datasets and in private evaluations with model providers, after de-identification.
Arena advises against including sensitive information, and the privacy policy says the service is not intended for anyone under 18. To remove a chat, archive it, then delete it from the archive; the help page calls this irreversible and says removal from systems typically completes within 30 days, with limited data kept where law or security requires.
What can Agent Mode take as input and return?
Agent Mode accepts PNG, WebP, JPEG, PDF, GIF, plain text, Markdown, CSV, HTML, XML, CSS, JavaScript and JSON uploads, while Battle Mode accepts PNG, JPEG, WebP and PDF. Without a connected repository, files sit in a session workspace and download as a zip. With a GitHub repository, the assistant commits to a working branch and opens a pull request.
Once that pull request is merged or closed, the session can no longer push, and later files cannot be downloaded or carried into a new session, so push work first. Uploading an image in Text Arena switches you to Image Arena for editing.
Does a Battle Mode prompt use the daily credit balance?
Proposed evaluation · not performed yet
With a fresh account and a non-sensitive prompt, such as a fictional 100-word product announcement to shorten for a newsletter, compare how the usage indicator behaves in two modes. Do not paste real customer or company text.
- Note the credit indicator before the first prompt.
- Send the prompt in Text Arena Battle Mode, vote, and note the indicator again.
- Repeat the same prompt in Direct mode with one named model.
- Note when the indicator appears and whether a refresh countdown is shown.
Accept the credit help page description if Battle Mode leaves the balance unchanged and Direct mode reduces it. Reject or note any mismatch with a date. No credit size or limit is reported until the steps are run.
To compare assistants you would use outside Arena, see ChatGPT and Claude. For cited web answers as the main job, see Perplexity.
Is Arena worth it?
Documentation review plus dated public user reports. Documentation review, not tested hands-on. Not scored.
Worth it if
- You want to put two answers to the same prompt side by side and judge them yourself, since Battle Mode and Side by Side need no paid plan.
- You want to learn how preference-vote leaderboards are built before citing one, because the FAQ and help pages explain the voting method.
- You want Agent Mode to return files or a GitHub pull request for a code task.
Probably not if
- You need a fixed price or guaranteed free allowance, because the terms reserve the right to charge and no credit size is published.
- You would paste confidential or customer text, because prompts reach third-party model providers and can feed de-identified research datasets.
- You want to influence the public leaderboard from Side by Side or Direct mode, because only votes cast while model names are hidden count.
Arena alternatives
Other research & sources tools checked with the same method. Pick by the job, not by a score.
Finding and synthesizing published research
Extracting study data from research papers
K-12 schools piloting an AI tutor that teachers can monitor
Cited answers from your own documents
Researchers and students checking how a paper has been cited
Searching and monitoring scientific literature for free, by hand or through an API
Quick summaries of articles, papers and videos
Finding hard-to-locate papers on a specific research question
Used Arena? Write the first review. Visitor opinions are moderated and kept separate from our source checks.
Frequently asked questions
Is there an official Arena pricing page?
No public price list was found. The address arena.ai/pricing returned a not-found page when checked, and the site menus link no plan table. The Terms of Use only say the service is currently free of charge and that the company keeps the right to charge later. Any paid tier, credit size or enterprise price is not confirmed.
Do I need an account to use Arena?
Not for everything. Battle Mode and the leaderboards can be used without logging in, but Direct mode, Side by Side mode, Image Arena and Video Arena need an account. Signing in also gives higher rate limits and chat history that syncs across devices. A temporary email address does not work for email signup, and accounts cannot be merged.
Do Side by Side and Direct votes change the leaderboard?
No. Only Battle Mode votes cast while model names are hidden count toward official rankings. Side by Side matchups are not anonymous and their votes do not affect the public leaderboard, and Direct mode has no voting. Your prompts in those modes are still collected for research, so the same privacy advice applies to every mode.
Does Arena charge organizations for anything?
Arena says it sustains itself by offering AI evaluations to enterprises, model labs and developers, based on real-world human feedback, and it points visitors to a contact route for that service. No price for the evaluations is published anywhere checked, so the cost of that work is not confirmed. Individual chat use is described as free.
Can children use Arena, and can I delete my chats?
The privacy policy says the service is not intended for anyone under 18 years of age. Chats can be deleted by archiving a session, opening the archive and choosing Delete, which the help page calls irreversible. Removal from Arena systems typically finishes within 30 days, with limited data kept where law or security requires.
Sources and method15 official sources · 17 details checked · Sep 30, 2026
How we checked this profile
17 details on this page were checked against Arena's own pages and help documentation (Sep 30, 2026). 1 is still open and listed below.
See the checks by section16 documented1 open
| Section | Checks | Last checked | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|
| Article text | 4 documented | arena.ai/lmarena-is-now-arenaarena.ai/aboutarena.ai/faqhelp.arena.ai/7011479247-how-to-see-ai-r… | |
| Plans and prices | 4 documented 1 open | help.arena.ai/5629909088-terms-of-usearena.ai/pricinghelp.arena.ai/5476762589-credit-sytemarena.ai/faq | |
| Features | 3 documented | arena.ai/faqhelp.arena.ai/5432423882-how-to-use-agen… | |
| Who it suits | 1 documented | help.arena.ai/7258407731-arena-how-to-cr… | |
| Strengths and limits | 2 documented | help.arena.ai/5629909088-terms-of-usearena.ai/faq | |
| Questions | 2 documented | help.arena.ai/9130232616-how-to-delete-y…help.arena.ai/3765052346-privacy-policy |
Still open
- The address arena.ai/pricing returned a page saying it could not be found when checked.Not verified · checked · Source (opens in a new tab)
Sources for this profile
- Terms of Use (last updated 2026-02-23)help.arena.ai
- Arena homepagearena.ai
- Arena pricing URL (returns a not-found page)arena.ai
- Privacy Policy (effective 2025-12-16)help.arena.ai
All 15 sources
- LMArena is now Arena (blog)arena.ai
- About Arenaarena.ai
- How Arena worksarena.ai
- Arena FAQarena.ai
- Help: credit systemhelp.arena.ai
- Help: Battle Modehelp.arena.ai
- Help: create an accounthelp.arena.ai
- Help: leaderboards and filtershelp.arena.ai
- Help: Agent Modehelp.arena.ai
- Help: file uploadhelp.arena.ai
- Help: delete chat sessionshelp.arena.ai
The Terms of Use were last updated 2026-02-23 and the Privacy Policy states an effective date of 2025-12-16; the help articles carry relative update labels only. The daily credit size, and the rate limits for logged-out or logged-in use, are not stated anywhere checked. User counts on the blog are the provider's own figures and are not used here. The leaderboard page shows current model names and ranks that change often, so none are copied. The product was announced as Arena on 28 January 2026; earlier names are Chatbot Arena and LMArena.
Sources checked Sep 30, 2026. Found something out of date? See how we correct profiles.

