SMMRY: free plan lists 10 summaries with no stated period, and the daily cap lifts only on Advanced at $16
Updated September 29, 2026 · By Elias Brandt · Documentation review, not tested hands-on
Pros
- Free tier without a price
- Several output formats
- Named operator
Cons
- Free quota period unstated
- No published payment terms
- FAQ out of step with plans
Bottom line
Standard AI Summarizer; 10 summaries, period not stated; texts, articles and web pages.
You read a few articles or web pages a week and can live with a free quota whose reset period is unstated, because the free plan covers texts, articles and web pages.
You need to know exactly how many free summaries you get, because the pricing card does not say whether the 10 are daily, monthly or one-off.
Best forStudents with long reading listsResearchers triaging articlesPeople learning from video and audioDevelopers adding summaries to an app
Strengths, limits and who it suits, in full
Strengths
- Free tier without a price Free lists 10 summaries of texts, articles and web pages at $0.
- Several output formats One summary can be read as bullets, a one-liner, bold key points or a mind map.
- Named operator The terms identify LUMINATION AI LTD in London with its company number.
Limits
- Free quota period unstated The pricing card lists 10 summaries without saying per day, per month or in total.
- No published payment terms The terms and conditions contain no subscription, renewal or refund rules.
- FAQ out of step with plans The homepage FAQ mentions a Pro plan with on-premise options that the pricing table does not list.
Who it suits
- Students with long reading lists Essential's 20 summaries a day cover a heavy reading week, provided key claims are checked in the source.
- Researchers triaging articles short summaries help decide what to read in full, not replace reading cited work.
- People learning from video and audio YouTube needs Essential and podcasts need Advanced, so match the plan to the medium.
- Developers adding summaries to an app the API is billed by separate credits, so ask for pricing before building on it.
How much does SMMRY cost?
Prices confirmed · checked
- $9Essential
- $16Advanced
Regional prices: Prices are shown in USD.
The pricing page opens on the yearly view, where Essential shows $7 and Advanced $13 a month beside crossed-out $14 and $25; the monthly view shows $9 and $16 beside crossed-out $18 and $32. The yearly invoice total is not printed, so confirm it at checkout. The published terms do not describe renewal, cancellation or refunds.
| Plan | Price | What you get |
|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 sourceFrom smmry.com/pricing, checked Oct 24, 2026 (opens in a new tab) | Standard AI Summarizer; 10 summaries, period not stated; texts, articles and web pages. |
| Essential | $9 per monthbilled monthly · or $7 per month on yearly billing sourceFrom smmry.com/pricing, checked Oct 24, 2026 (opens in a new tab) | AI Summarizer 2.0; 20 summaries per day; personal library; articles, books, websites and YouTube videos. |
| Advanced | $16 per monthbilled monthly · or $13 per month on yearly billing sourceFrom smmry.com/pricing, checked Oct 24, 2026 (opens in a new tab) | Everything in Essential; unlimited summaries per day; podcasts; mind maps. |
How far does it go?
- Essential daily cap across a month20 summaries a day × 30 days = 600 summaries at most. On monthly billing, $9 ÷ 600 = $0.015 per summary if every daily slot is used. Advanced removes the daily cap. The free plan's 10 summaries have no stated period, so no free rate is calculated.
Arithmetic from the published allowances above, not a usage test.
Taxes, currency and promotions can change the price you see at checkout.
Try SMMRY free (opens in a new tab)
Key features
| Feature | What it does | Watch out |
|---|---|---|
| Summaries of pasted text, web page URLs and uploaded files | — | |
| Short-to-long length control | — | |
| Bold Essentials, Bullet List, One Liner and Mindmap outputs | — | |
| YouTube video summaries on paid plans | Pulls the content of a YouTube video or a podcast and summarizes it. | YouTube starts at Essential and podcasts need Advanced. |
| Podcast summaries on Advanced | — | |
| Personal library of saved summaries | — | |
| Support for 20+ languages | — | |
| REST API with separately purchased credits | REST endpoints take raw text, a web URL or a base64-encoded PDF and return a summary, authenticated by API key. | API credits are bought separately in the API dashboard, and their prices are not published. |
| Output formats | Shows the same summary as bold key points, a bullet list, a one-line version or a mind map, with copy and download. | The pricing table lists mind maps only on Advanced. |
| Source input | Accepts pasted text, a web page address or an uploaded file such as PDF, DOCX or EPUB. | The FAQ says the free plan limits text length and file size but gives no figures. |
What do the prices on the pricing page mean?
The pricing page loads with the Yearly tab selected, so the first figures you see, $7 a month for Essential and $13 for Advanced, are monthly equivalents on yearly billing. Switching to the Monthly tab shows $9 and $16. Both views also show higher crossed-out prices: $14 and $25 on yearly, $18 and $32 on monthly.
The page does not print the yearly invoice total, and the published terms contain no renewal or refund rules. Multiplying the monthly equivalent by twelve is only an estimate, so read the amount on the checkout screen before paying for a year.
How much can you do on the free plan?
Free uses the standard summarizer and lists 10 summaries of texts, articles and web pages. The card does not say whether that is per day, per month or in total, and the homepage FAQ adds only that free accounts have a limit on text length and file size, without figures.
YouTube summaries start at Essential, and podcasts and mind maps at Advanced, so a free test should use an article or pasted text. Count the summaries you use in the first days to learn how the quota resets before paying.
Which plan fits your reading load?
The difference between the paid plans is the daily cap and the media types. Essential allows 20 summaries a day, AI Summarizer 2.0, a personal library and YouTube videos. Advanced has no daily cap and adds podcasts and mind maps.
Editorial assessment
Essential is enough for a student or analyst who summarizes fewer than 20 items on the busiest day, since that covers up to 600 a month. Choose Advanced if you regularly exceed 20 a day, summarize podcasts, or want mind maps for revision; otherwise the extra cost buys capacity you will not use.
What happens to the text and files you submit?
The homepage FAQ says uploads are encrypted and removed from the server after the summary is generated, and that you keep the rights to your content and to the summary. Essential and Advanced also include a personal library, so summaries you choose to save are stored in your account.
The privacy policy lists data communicated while using the service among the information collected, and names Google Analytics, but does not name the AI model providers that process your text. Keep confidential contracts, unpublished research and personal data out of the tool until that processing chain is documented.
Can developers use SMMRY through an API?
The API page documents a REST endpoint that accepts one of raw text, a web page URL or a PDF encoded in base64, and a second endpoint that fetches an earlier summary by request ID. Requests carry an API key in the x-api-key header.
Keys and credits come from an API dashboard after sign-up, and the page does not list credit prices or say how API credits relate to the Essential and Advanced plans. An error message also mentions insufficient credits, so budget for a separate purchase and ask for rates before building a product on it.
Can the free plan summarize a long article without dropping key facts?
Proposed evaluation · not performed yet
On a free account, use a public 2,000-word news or research article that contains five specific facts, such as dates, figures and named sources, listed beforehand. No paid plan is needed because the input is a web page.
- Note how many of the 10 free summaries remain.
- Paste the article URL and generate a short summary, then a long one.
- Open the Bullet List and One Liner views for the long summary.
- Check each of the five facts against the article and mark any missing or changed.
- Record how many free summaries the test used and whether the count changes the next day.
Accept a long summary that keeps at least four of the five facts unchanged and adds no claim missing from the article. Reject altered figures or invented sources. No summary quality result is reported until the exercise is run.
To summarize and question your own uploaded sources with citations, compare NotebookLM. For answers drawn from live web sources, see Perplexity.
Is SMMRY worth it?
Documentation review plus dated public user reports. Documentation review, not tested hands-on. Not scored.
Worth it if
- You read a few articles or web pages a week and can live with a free quota whose reset period is unstated, because the free plan covers texts, articles and web pages.
- You summarize up to 20 items on busy days and want YouTube videos included, since Essential covers both at its monthly price.
- You regularly pass 20 summaries a day or need podcasts and mind maps, which only Advanced lists.
Probably not if
- You need to know exactly how many free summaries you get, because the pricing card does not say whether the 10 are daily, monthly or one-off.
- You need documented renewal, cancellation or refund rules before paying, because the published terms contain none.
- You plan to build on the API with a known budget, since credit prices are not published and are bought separately from the plans.
SMMRY alternatives
Other research & sources tools checked with the same method. Pick by the job, not by a score.
Comparing AI model answers by voting, without a paid plan
Finding and synthesizing published research
Extracting study data from research papers
K-12 schools piloting an AI tutor that teachers can monitor
Checking whether a startup idea has demand and room before building it
Widening a literature review from a few known papers through citations and co-authors
Students and researchers reading a small set of papers who will check every cited passage
Researchers and students checking how a paper has been cited
Used SMMRY? Write the first review. Visitor opinions are moderated and kept separate from our source checks.
Frequently asked questions
Is smry.ai the same service as SMMRY?
No. SMMRY is the summarizer at smmry.com, operated by LUMINATION AI LTD in London. The site at smry.ai is a separate product, a news and RSS reader, with a similar name. Check the address before signing up or paying, and note that plans and prices for one do not apply to the other.
Which languages does SMMRY support?
The homepage advertises support for more than 20 languages. Its language menu includes Arabic, Bangla, Chinese, Dutch, English, French, German, Greek, Hindi, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Spanish and Turkish. Summaries of technical text in a second language are worth checking against the original wording.
Can I export or share a summary?
Yes. The homepage FAQ says summaries can be exported as text, PDF or Word documents, copied to the clipboard or shared to social media in one click, and the summarizer shows Download and Copy buttons. On Essential and Advanced you can also save summaries to a personal library for later.
Who operates SMMRY and how do I contact them?
The terms name LUMINATION AI LTD, 3rd Floor, 86-90 Paul Street, London EC2A 4NE, United Kingdom, company number 15291725, as owner and data controller. The homepage FAQ gives hello@smmry.com for feedback and problem reports. Use the same address for billing questions, since no separate refund policy is published.
What if a summary leaves out something important?
The homepage FAQ acknowledges that no summarization model is flawless and suggests naming keywords to emphasize or switching to a more in-depth setting. For study or research, move the length slider toward long and compare the output with the headings of the original before relying on it.
Sources and method5 official sources · 7 details checked · Sep 29, 2026
How we checked this profile
7 details on this page were checked against SMMRY's own pages and help documentation (Sep 29, 2026).
See the checks by section7 documented
| Section | Checks | Last checked | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|
| Plans and prices | 4 documented | smmry.com/pricing | |
| Features | 2 documented | smmry.comsmmry.com/api | |
| Other details | 1 documented | smmry.com/terms-and-conditions |
Sources for this profile
- Plans and pricing (yearly default and monthly views)smmry.com
- SMMRY summarizer and FAQsmmry.com
- Terms and conditions (updated February 21, 2025)smmry.com
- Privacy policy (updated February 21, 2025)smmry.com
All 5 sources
The terms, updated February 21, 2025, name LUMINATION AI LTD, 3rd Floor, 86-90 Paul Street, London EC2A 4NE, company number 15291725. The pricing page was rendered in both billing views; the yearly view is selected on load. The homepage FAQ refers to a Pro plan, on-premise options and future Slack, Google Docs and Notion integrations that the plan table does not list. The service at smry.ai is a different product and is not covered.
Sources checked Sep 29, 2026. Found something out of date? See how we correct profiles.

