Use AI for XFor makers
Use AI for X
Choose AI tools with sources, not hype.
Compare side by side For makers

OpenArt

Source-checked

in Images & design · 36 tools compared

Web studio that runs many image and video AI models with characters, Director mode and an MCP connector

OpenArt is a web studio for AI images, video, characters, voice and music that puts over 100 third-party models under one credit balance. A trial plan with daily credits needs no credit card, but free output may be watermarked. Paid plans start at $13 per seat a month, remove the watermark and add monthly credits that do not roll over; commercial use rights start at Plus ($27).

  • Free plan$0
  • Paid from$13 / seat / month

Free includes: Trial plan with daily credits (amount not stated), no credit card; output may carry a visible OpenArt watermark.

Runs on Web

Works with OpenArt MCP: connect ChatGPT, Claude, Cursor, Kimi or any MCP agent with OAuth sign-in, no API key · openart command-line tool for generating images and video from a terminal

Prices and limits checked against 6 official sources · how we check

OpenArt homepage screenshot showing the official landing page
Official homepageopenart.aiCaptured

Is OpenArt your product? Send updates or get featured. Paid placement never changes this profile.

What is OpenArt, in short?

Updated October 31, 2026 · By Elias Brandt · Documentation review, not tested hands-on

Pros

  • Free path without a card
  • Many models in one account
  • Agent access without API keys
  • Clear commercial threshold

Cons

  • Free limits are not numbers
  • Free output may be watermarked
  • Plan credits do not roll over
  • No refunds
  • Billing period not labeled

Best forCreators who want one account for image, video, voice and musicMarketers making ads and social clipsDevelopers and agent usersNot for client work on a free account

Strengths, limits and who it suits, in full

Strengths

  • Free path without a card The homepage says a trial plan with daily credits needs no credit card.
  • Many models in one account Plans list 100+ premium image, video and audio models, with credit costs shown per generation.
  • Agent access without API keys The MCP page lists OAuth sign-in for ChatGPT, Claude, Cursor and Kimi, plus a CLI.
  • Clear commercial threshold The Terms and pricing page tie commercial use of Output to Plus and above.

Limits

  • Free limits are not numbers The daily credit amount on the trial plan is not stated on the pages we read.
  • Free output may be watermarked The Terms say free-plan output may carry a visible watermark that cannot be removed.
  • Plan credits do not roll over Unused plan credits reset monthly; only add-on credits above the plan amount roll over.
  • No refunds The Terms make purchases non-refundable except where law requires.
  • Billing period not labeled The captured pricing text does not say whether the displayed prices assume monthly or annual billing.

Who it suits

  • Creators who want one account for image, video, voice and music The homepage lists all four with export to WAV or MP3 for audio.
  • Marketers making ads and social clips The models page lists Director quick-starts for UGC ads, product ads and social content.
  • Developers and agent users The MCP page connects Claude, Cursor and ChatGPT without an API key.
  • Not for client work on a free account Commercial use rights start at Plus, and free output may carry a watermark.

How much does OpenArt cost?

Prices confirmed · checked

Credit allowances by plan
Starter 4,000per month
Plus 12,000per month
Pro 24,000per month
Wonder 106,000per month
Regional prices: USD figures are the per-seat monthly prices shown on the pricing page on 2026-10-31 next to a crossed-out list price ($14, $34, $56, $240).

The page text does not label them as monthly or annual billing prices, so we do not say which billing period they assume. Plan credits reset monthly and do not roll over; add-on credits above the plan amount do. An Extra Credit add-on is listed at $15 a month without a credit amount. Terms (last updated 2026-07-30): purchases are non-refundable except where law requires, subscriptions auto-renew, and commercial use of Output starts at the Plus level. A promotion of up to 30% off ran until Nov 1 and a Kling 4.0 discount runs until Nov 20, so figures may move.

PlanPriceWhat you get
Free$0 sourceFrom openart.ai/pricing, checked Oct 31, 2026 (opens in a new tab)Trial plan with daily credits (amount not stated), no credit card; output may carry a visible OpenArt watermark.
Starter$13 per seat per monthlist $14 sourceFrom openart.ai/pricing, checked Oct 31, 2026 (opens in a new tab)4,000 credits a month, up to about 4,000 images or 50 videos (excluding Director); Director and MCP access; about 13 characters; 8 parallel generations; watermark-free; no commercial use rights listed.
Plus$27 per seat per monthlist $34 sourceFrom openart.ai/pricing, checked Oct 31, 2026 (opens in a new tab)12,000 credits a month, up to about 12,000 images or 150 videos; about 40 characters; 16 parallel generations; commercial use rights; add credits as needed.
Pro$44 per seat per monthlist $56 sourceFrom openart.ai/pricing, checked Oct 31, 2026 (opens in a new tab)24,000 credits a month, up to about 24,000 images or 300 videos; about 80 characters; 32 parallel generations; commercial use rights; Kling 4.0 at 50% off until Nov 20.
Wonder$175 per seat per monthlist $240 sourceFrom openart.ai/pricing, checked Oct 31, 2026 (opens in a new tab)106,000 credits a month, up to about 106,000 images or 1,300 videos; about 353 characters; 32 parallel generations; priority support; commercial use rights; Kling 4.0 at 50% off until Nov 20.

Which plan fits?

Smallest plan whose monthly credits cover your number with 15% spare for regenerations. Arithmetic from the plan table above, not a usage test.

How far does it go?

  • What a credit costs by planAt the displayed monthly prices, one credit works out to about $0.0033 on Starter ($13 for 4,000), $0.0023 on Plus ($27 for 12,000), $0.0018 on Pro ($44 for 24,000) and $0.0017 on Wonder ($175 for 106,000). That is arithmetic on listed figures, not a quote: it ignores the unlabeled billing period, and unused plan credits are lost each month, so a larger plan only helps if you use most of its credits.

Arithmetic from the published allowances above, not a usage test.

OpenArt official pricing page screenshot with plan names
Official pricing pageopenart.aiCaptured

Taxes, currency and promotions can change the price you see at checkout.

Try OpenArt free (opens in a new tab)

Key features

FeatureWhat it doesWatch out
Image generation and editing with GPT Image 2, Nano Banana Pro and Seedream 5.0—
Video up to 15 seconds and 4K from Veo 3.1, Seedance 2.0, Kling 3.0 Omni or Sora 2—
Director mode: storyboard and edit video through chatThe homepage describes laying out a storyboard and shaping each shot by chat; the pricing page counts Director separately from the 'videos' estimate on every plan.Check the credit cost shown in the interface for a Director run before planning a batch.
Characters saved for consistent faces across images and video—
Voiceover in 30+ languages, music and sound effects—
OpenArt MCP and CLI for use from other AI agents—
Characters are the reuse featureThe homepage says you build a Character from reference images or a text brief, save it to your library and tag it in later generations; plans cap saved characters at about 13 on Starter, 40 on Plus, 80 on Pro and 353 on Wonder. The Help Center advises 10-15 varied reference images.Build one Character from your own reference set and generate five scenes before judging consistency.
Many models, one balancePlans advertise access to 100+ image, video and audio models, and the interface shows the credit cost of each generation. Third-party models such as Veo, Sora and Kling are listed by OpenArt, not built by it.Compare the credit cost of two models for the same shot before committing a month of credits.

Is OpenArt free?

Partly. The homepage says you can start on a trial plan with daily credits and no credit card, but gives no credit amount. The Terms say free-plan output may carry a visible OpenArt watermark and that you may not remove it, and commercial use of output starts at the Plus level.

What do the paid prices mean?

The pricing page shows $13 for Starter, $27 for Plus, $44 for Pro and $175 for Wonder per seat per month, each next to a higher crossed-out price. The page text does not say whether those figures assume monthly or annual billing, so check the toggle at checkout before comparing with another tool.

How far do credits go?

Every generation spends credits and the interface shows the cost for each model. The plan estimates (about 50 videos on Starter, 150 on Plus) exclude Director, which is counted separately. Plan credits reset each month; add-on credits above the plan amount roll over. See the credit-cost comparison in the usage example.

What does OpenArt do with your work?

The Terms say OpenArt makes no claim of ownership of generated output, and the Help Center says uploads and created content are not used to train its models. The Terms prohibit sexually explicit content, deepfakes and inappropriate depictions of minors.

How to test it in an afternoon

Proposed evaluation · not performed yet

On the free plan, build one Character from a few reference images, generate the same character in five scenes, then run one short video with a model that shows a low credit cost. Note the watermark, the credits spent and whether the face holds; if you need client use or no watermark, price Plus for one month.

OpenArt alternatives

Other images & design tools checked with the same method. Pick by the job, not by a score.

All AI images & design toolsCompare tools side by side

Used OpenArt? Write the first review. Visitor opinions are moderated and kept separate from our source checks.

Frequently asked questions

Is OpenArt AI really free?

A trial plan with daily credits and no credit card is available, but the daily amount is not stated and free output may carry a watermark. Commercial use of output starts at Plus.

Can I use OpenArt output commercially?

The Terms grant commercial use for the Plus level and above; the pricing page lists commercial use rights on Plus, Pro and Wonder but not Starter.

Is NSFW allowed on OpenArt?

No. The Terms prohibit sexually explicit or pornographic content, deepfakes and inappropriate depictions of minors.

Do unused OpenArt credits roll over?

Plan credits reset each month and do not carry over; unused add-on credits above the monthly plan amount roll over, per the Help Center.

Sources and method6 official sources · 11 details checked · Oct 31, 2026

How we checked this profile

11 details on this page were checked against OpenArt's own pages and help documentation (Oct 31, 2026). 4 are still open and listed below.

See the checks by section7 documented4 open
SectionChecksLast checkedSources
Article text1 documentedopenart.ai
Plans and prices3 documented 3 openopenart.aiopenart.ai/pricingopenart.ai/termsopenart.ai/help
Features1 documentedopenart.ai
Platforms and integrations1 documentedopenart.ai/mcp
Strengths and limits1 documented 1 openopenart.ai/helpopenart.ai/terms

Still open

  • You can start on OpenArt for free with a trial plan with daily credits and no credit card required.Not confirmed · checked · Source (opens in a new tab)
  • Pricing page shows per-seat monthly prices of $13 (Starter, list $14), $27 (Plus, list $34), $44 (Pro, list $56) and $175 (Wonder, list $240).Not confirmed · checked · Source (opens in a new tab)
  • Plan credits reset each month and do not roll over; unused add-on credits above the monthly plan credits roll over.Not confirmed · checked · Source (opens in a new tab)
  • Help Center: OpenArt says it does not use uploaded images or created content to train its models; it also says it does not support direct video editing such as cutting.Not confirmed · checked · Source (opens in a new tab)

Sources for this profile

All 6 sources

Official pages read on 2026-10-31: homepage with its FAQ, pricing page, Help Center, MCP and CLI page, models page, Terms of Service (last updated 2026-07-30) and Privacy Policy (last updated 2026-03-04). The homepage, pricing page and models page were read through a proxy fetch. We did not create an account or run a generation, so output quality, the trial plan's daily credit amount and watermark placement were not observed. The pricing page text does not label its prices as monthly or annual billing. The Help Center and homepage differ on details such as plan names and video editing, so we state only what each page says. Customer quotes on the homepage and third-party listings were not used.

Sources checked Oct 31, 2026. Found something out of date? See how we correct profiles.

Back to top