Use AI for XFor makers
Use AI for X
Choose AI tools with sources, not hype.
Compare side by side For makers

Sudowrite

Source-checked

in Writing & content · 30 tools compared

AI writing partner for fiction that drafts, describes, rewrites and gives feedback on a novel in your own voice

Sudowrite is a web app for fiction writers that drafts, expands, rewrites and critiques scenes, using its own Muse models and 30+ others. It offers a free trial with no credit card, then Hobby & Student at $10 a month billed yearly ($19 billed monthly), Professional at $22 ($29) and Max at $44 ($59). The plans differ mainly in monthly credits, and the Professional card shows two credit figures, 1,000,000 and 450,000, so confirm it before you pay.

  • AccessFree trial only
  • Paid from$22 / month

Runs on Web

Works with No third-party integrations were listed on the pages read; the app uses 30+ models, including Anthropic Claude and OpenAI models and its own Muse and Ballad

Prices and limits checked against 3 official sources · how we check

Sudowrite homepage screenshot showing the official landing page
Official homepagesudowrite.comCaptured

Is Sudowrite your product? Send updates or get featured. Paid placement never changes this profile.

What is Sudowrite, in short?

Updated October 30, 2026 · By Elias Brandt · Documentation review, not tested hands-on

Pros

  • Built around fiction
  • Keeps your work after cancelling
  • Credit rollover on Max
  • Clear rights statement

Cons

  • Credit figures unclear
  • No refund on cancellation
  • Trial details missing
  • Renewal wording differs

Best forNovelists drafting and revising a long manuscriptStudents and hobby writersNot for under-18 usersNot for non-fiction or business copy

Strengths, limits and who it suits, in full

Strengths

  • Built around fiction Features such as Story Bible, Canvas, Describe and Expand are made for long stories rather than general chat.
  • Keeps your work after cancelling You can still open and work on your projects without a paid plan; only AI features stop.
  • Credit rollover on Max Unused credits roll over for 12 months on the top plan.
  • Clear rights statement The FAQ says Sudowrite claims no rights over what you put in or what it generates.

Limits

  • Credit figures unclear The Professional card shows both 1,000,000 and 450,000 credits and no per-word rate is published.
  • No refund on cancellation The Terms say fees are not refunded on cancellation.
  • Trial details missing The trial's length and allowance were not stated on the pages read, and no permanent free plan is listed.
  • Renewal wording differs The Terms describe monthly renewal while the pricing page sells yearly billing.

Who it suits

  • Novelists drafting and revising a long manuscript Story Bible, Canvas and Feedback target book-length work.
  • Students and hobby writers Hobby & Student is the lowest-priced plan at $10 a month billed yearly.
  • Not for under-18 users The Terms require users to be at least 18.
  • Not for non-fiction or business copy The product is built for fiction, and no business-writing workflow was read.

How much does Sudowrite cost?

Prices confirmed · checked

Regional prices: Prices are US dollars from the pricing page.

Each plan has a lower rate billed yearly and a higher rate billed monthly; the page says up to 50% off yearly, but the yearly total and how a yearly plan renews were not read, and the Terms describe monthly renewal. Credits arrive on a monthly renewal date and expire unless the plan has rollover (Max, up to 12 months); extra credits can be bought, do not expire, and their price was not read. Every credit needs an active subscription. The Professional allowance is unresolved: the page data says 1,000,000, the visible card also shows 450,000. The free trial needs no credit card, but its length and credit amount were not stated. Fees are not refunded on cancellation, and projects stay accessible without AI features.

PlanPriceWhat you get
Hobby & Student$10 per month sourceFrom sudowrite.com/pricing, checked Oct 30, 2026 (opens in a new tab)$10 a month billed yearly or $19 billed monthly; 225,000 credits a month; Write, Rewrite, Describe, Expand, Muse and Ballad, 30+ models; for people who write for fun or school.
Professional$22 per month sourceFrom sudowrite.com/pricing, checked Oct 30, 2026 (opens in a new tab)$22 a month billed yearly or $29 billed monthly; credits stated as 1,000,000 a month in page data while the card also shows 450,000; adds developmental edits, line edits and beta reads; marked most popular.
Max$44 per month sourceFrom sudowrite.com/pricing, checked Oct 30, 2026 (opens in a new tab)$44 a month billed yearly or $59 billed monthly; 2,000,000 credits a month; everything in Professional; unused credits roll over for 12 months.

How far does it go?

  • Cost per 1,000,000 creditsDividing the listed plan price by its credit allowance gives about $44.44 per 1,000,000 credits on Hobby & Student billed yearly, $22 on Professional billed yearly and $22 on Max billed yearly; billed monthly it is about $84.44, $29 and $29.50. Arithmetic on published prices, not a statement by Sudowrite; it uses 1,000,000 for Professional, and at 450,000 the figure would be about $48.89. Credits per word are not published, extra-credit prices were not read, and the base subscription is the whole cost counted.

Arithmetic from the published allowances above, not a usage test.

Sudowrite official pricing page screenshot with plan names
Official pricing pagesudowrite.comCaptured

Taxes, currency and promotions can change the price you see at checkout.

Visit Sudowrite (opens in a new tab)

Key features

FeatureWhat it doesWatch out
Write suggests the next stretch of text, about 300 words by the homepage, in your voice—
Rewrite, Expand and Describe revise a passage, build out a rushed scene or add sensory detail—
Story Bible and Canvas take a story from idea to outline to chapters and hold characters and plot points—
Chat, Brainstorm and Feedback for ideas, names and five areas to improve; Professional and Max add developmental edits, line edits and beta reads—
Muse and Ballad, models made for fiction, plus 30+ other models on every planThe pricing FAQ names Anthropic Claude models, open-source models, OpenAI models and in-house models such as Muse.Which model handles a given feature is not stated, so output depends on choices the app makes.
Visualize generates art from character and world descriptions—
CreditsEvery action spends monthly credits; Hobby & Student includes 225,000, Max 2,000,000, and Professional is stated as 1,000,000 in the page data while the card also shows 450,000.The pages give no credits-per-word rate, so the length of a book your plan covers cannot be worked out before you try the app.
Rights and trainingSudowrite says it claims no rights over what you write or what it generates, and that it does not use your writing to train Sudowrite's or OpenAI's models.The Terms still grant it a licence to host and process your content to provide and improve the service, and the Privacy Policy was only skimmed, so read both before uploading an unpublished manuscript.

Does Sudowrite have a free plan?

There is a free trial that the pricing page says needs no credit card, but no permanent free plan is listed. The length of the trial and the credits it includes were not stated on the pages we read, so open the trial before you plan a manuscript around it. After cancelling, you can still open your projects but cannot use the AI features without a paid plan.

Which credit figure applies on Professional?

The plans differ mainly in monthly credits: 225,000 on Hobby & Student, 2,000,000 on Max and an unresolved figure on Professional. The pricing page’s structured data says 1,000,000 credits a month, while the visible card also shows 450,000 beside a 2x label. We could not tell whether one is a promotion or an older number, so confirm the allowance in the app before choosing the plan. No credits-per-word rate is published.

Who owns what you write, and is it used for training?

The FAQ says Sudowrite claims no rights over what you put in or what it generates and does not use your writing to train Sudowrite’s or OpenAI’s models. The Terms also grant a licence to host and process your content to provide and improve the service; read both before uploading an unpublished book.

How could you check Sudowrite before paying?

Proposed evaluation · not performed yet

Test one real chapter during the trial.

  1. Pick a scene of about 1,000 words from your own draft.
  2. Run Rewrite and Expand on it and note the credits used.
  3. Multiply by your chapter count and compare with each plan’s allowance.
  4. Check the trial’s length and whether the edit and beta-read features are included.

Accept if the voice matches and the credit use is visible. Reject if one chapter uses most of a month’s allowance. No result is recorded here.

Sudowrite alternatives

Other writing & content tools checked with the same method. Pick by the job, not by a score.

All AI writing & content toolsCompare tools side by side

Used Sudowrite? Write the first review. Visitor opinions are moderated and kept separate from our source checks.

Frequently asked questions

Does Sudowrite have a free trial?

Yes, the pricing page offers a free trial with no credit card needed, but its length and credits were not stated and no permanent free plan is listed.

How much does Sudowrite cost per month?

Hobby & Student is $10 billed yearly or $19 billed monthly, Professional is $22 or $29, and Max is $44 or $59.

How many credits do the Sudowrite plans include?

Hobby & Student has 225,000 a month and Max 2,000,000; Professional is stated as 1,000,000 in the page data while the card also shows 450,000, so confirm it.

Does Sudowrite use my writing to train AI?

The pricing FAQ says it does not use your writing to train Sudowrite's or OpenAI's models, and the Terms still license it to host and process your content to run the service.

Can I keep my work if I cancel Sudowrite?

You can still open and work on your projects, but you cannot use the AI features without a paid plan; fees are not refunded on cancellation.

Sources and method3 official sources · 14 details checked · Oct 30, 2026

How we checked this profile

14 details on this page were checked against Sudowrite's own pages and help documentation (Oct 30, 2026). 2 are still open and listed below.

See the checks by section12 documented2 open
SectionChecksLast checkedSources
Article text1 documentedsudowrite.com
Plans and prices5 documented 2 opensudowrite.com/pricingsudowrite.com/terms-and-conditions
Features5 documentedsudowrite.com/pricingsudowrite.com/terms-and-conditionssudowrite.com
Who it suits1 documentedsudowrite.com/terms-and-conditions

Still open

  • Professional costs $22 a month billed yearly or $29 a month billed monthly, adds developmental edits, line edits and beta reads, and is described as 1,000,000 credits a month in the page's structured data; the visible card also shows 450,000 next to 1,000,000 and a 2x label.Not confirmed · checked · Source (opens in a new tab)
  • The trial is described as a free trial with no credit card and cancel anytime; its length and credit amount were not stated on the pages read.Not confirmed · checked · Source (opens in a new tab)

Sources for this profile

Official pages read on 2026-10-30: homepage, pricing page (including its FAQ and structured data, with the page fetched again through the official-page fetcher) and the Terms and Conditions; the Privacy Policy was only skimmed. We did not create an account, start the trial or generate any text, so output quality, trial length, credit use per task and the real Professional allowance were not observed. No social account beyond those linked from the provider's own site was checked. Review articles, author quotes on the homepage, user counts and search-volume figures were not used.

Sources checked Oct 30, 2026. Found something out of date? See how we correct profiles.

Back to top