ShortMake: a one-minute video uses about 100 to 120 credits, so $19.99 Starter covers roughly 8 to 10 videos
Updated September 29, 2026 · By Elias Brandt · Documentation review, not tested hands-on
Pros
- Fast path from idea to draft
- No card to start
- Clear credit rule of thumb
Cons
- No refunds once credits land
- Countdown discounts
- Dated legal pages
Bottom line
Start without a credit card; the free credit allowance is not stated on the pricing page; the paid plan cards list watermark removal and HD quality as plan features.
You run a faceless narrated channel and want a script, voice, visuals and subtitles from one typed idea, since the idea-to-video flow is built for that.
You need your own cloned voice, since the provider lists voice cloning as coming soon and only stock voices are offered today.
Best forFaceless short-form channelsSmall businesses testing short videoCreators who need their own voiceBrands needing licensing detail
Strengths, limits and who it suits, in full
Strengths
- Fast path from idea to draft One prompt produces script, voice, visuals and captions together.
- No card to start The FAQ says you can start free without a credit card.
- Clear credit rule of thumb The pricing page states that a 60-second video uses about 100 to 120 credits.
Limits
- No refunds once credits land The terms rule out refunds after credits are added to the account.
- Countdown discounts A timed first-month discount sits beside the list price and can be mistaken for the regular rate.
- Dated legal pages Terms date from February 2024 and describe the service as beta; the LLC country is not stated.
Who it suits
- Faceless short-form channels fits narrated explainers and story clips where no presenter is needed.
- Small businesses testing short video a monthly Starter plan can test a posting routine before any annual commitment.
- Creators who need their own voice not yet, since voice cloning is listed as coming soon.
- Brands needing licensing detail the public terms do not address output rights, so ask before using clips in paid ads.
How much does ShortMake cost?
Prices confirmed · checked
- $19.99Starter
- $29.99Creator
- $49.99Pro
Regional prices: Prices are shown in USD.
The annual toggle is labelled 30% off but does not print the yearly invoice total; its Starter figure of $20.00 a month is higher than the $19.99 monthly price. A banner with a two-hour countdown offered 20% off a premium plan on September 29, 2026; treat it as a first-month promotion, not the list price. The terms call the subscription non-binding and cancellable at any time, with no refund once credits are added.
| Plan | Price | What you get |
|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 sourceFrom shortmake.com/en/pricing, checked Oct 13, 2026 (opens in a new tab) | Start without a credit card; the free credit allowance is not stated on the pricing page; the paid plan cards list watermark removal and HD quality as plan features. |
| Starter | $19.99 per monthbilled monthly · annual view shows $20.00 per month sourceFrom shortmake.com/en/pricing, checked Oct 13, 2026 (opens in a new tab) | 1,000 credits a month, about 10 videos by the provider estimate; text to video; watermark removed; HD quality; Google Veo 3.1 and Sora 2; 4 extra realistic voices. |
| Creator | $29.99 per monthbilled monthly · annual view shows $21.00 per month sourceFrom shortmake.com/en/pricing, checked Oct 13, 2026 (opens in a new tab) | 2,000 credits a month, about 20 videos; 10 extra realistic voices; on September 29, 2026 a timed first-month offer showed $23.99, or 20% off. |
| Pro | $49.99 per monthbilled monthly · annual view shows $34.99 per month sourceFrom shortmake.com/en/pricing, checked Oct 13, 2026 (opens in a new tab) | 4,000 credits a month, about 40 videos; 20 extra realistic voices. |
Which plan fits?
Smallest plan whose monthly credits cover your number with 15% spare for regenerations. Arithmetic from the plan table above, not a usage test.
How far does it go?
- Credits per one-minute videoStarter: 1,000 ÷ 120 = about 8 and 1,000 ÷ 100 = 10 one-minute videos, so the provider figure of about 10 assumes the low end. Creator: 2,000 ÷ 120 = about 16 to 2,000 ÷ 100 = 20. Pro: 4,000 ÷ 120 = about 33 to 4,000 ÷ 100 = 40. Regenerations and premium model clips are not priced on the page.
Arithmetic from the published allowances above, not a usage test.
Taxes, currency and promotions can change the price you see at checkout.
Try ShortMake free (opens in a new tab)
Key features
| Feature | What it does | Watch out |
|---|---|---|
| Idea to script, voiceover, visuals and subtitles in one run | — | |
| Vertical output for TikTok, YouTube Shorts, Reels and Snapchat | — | |
| 23 subtitle styles | — | |
| Realistic AI voices in several languages | Offers stock AI voices, with 4, 10 or 20 extra realistic voices by plan. | Voice cloning is listed as coming soon, so your own voice is not available. |
| Google Veo 3.1 and Sora 2 listed on paid plans | — | |
| Editable script, voice, music and illustrations before rendering | — | |
| Idea to video | Writes a script from a short idea, picks visuals, adds a voiceover and subtitles, then renders. | The provider says most videos take under 7 minutes; review the script before rendering to avoid wasted credits. |
| Third-party video models | Lists Google Veo 3.1 and Sora 2 on paid plans, and names Kling and Wan on the homepage. | The pricing page does not say how many credits a clip from each model costs. |
How many videos do the credits really cover?
The pricing page gives the conversion that matters: a 60-second video uses about 100 to 120 credits. The plan cards then estimate about 10, 20 and 40 videos for 1,000, 2,000 and 4,000 credits, which only works if every video sits at the cheaper end of that range and needs no regeneration.
Shorter clips stretch the balance, and a 30-second short should use roughly half as much. Regenerating a scene or trying a second voice spends credits again, and the page does not price clips from premium models such as Veo 3.1 or Sora 2 separately. Track the balance before and after your first few videos.
Is the discounted price the real price?
On September 29, 2026, the pricing page showed a banner that offered 20% off a premium plan with a countdown of about two hours, and the Creator card displayed $23.99 instead of $29.99 with a note that the discount applies to the first month. Plan the budget on the $29.99 list price, since month two is billed at the regular rate.
The annual toggle is labelled 30% off and shows $21.00 for Creator and $34.99 for Pro, but $20.00 for Starter, which is higher than the $19.99 monthly price. The yearly invoice total is not printed, so read the checkout total before choosing annual billing.
What does the free start include?
The FAQ says you can start for free without a credit card and calls the free tier generous, but no free credit number appears on the public pages. The paid plan cards list watermark removal and HD quality as features, which suggests free exports may carry a watermark or lower quality.
Use the free start to judge script quality and voice choice rather than to produce finished posts. Download one test video and check the watermark and resolution before planning a channel around the free plan.
Which models, voices and styles are included?
Every paid plan lists Google Veo 3.1 and Sora 2 for video, AI-generated illustrations, normal voiceovers and a set of realistic voices that grows from 4 on Starter to 10 on Creator and 20 on Pro. The homepage adds Kling and Wan and lists 23 subtitle styles.
Custom voice cloning is described as coming soon, so the service currently offers stock voices only. Third-party model names change quickly; check the model menu in the editor before paying for a specific one.
What do the terms say about refunds and the beta?
The terms, last updated February 2, 2024, describe ShortMake as a beta platform that may contain bugs. They call the subscription non-binding and cancellable at any time, but rule out refunds once credits have been added to the account, citing server costs.
For credit problems or failed renders, the terms direct users to contact@shortmake.com or the Discord community. Because credits land immediately on purchase, a failed first month cannot be recovered through a refund, so test on the free start before paying.
What happens to your account data and prompts?
The privacy policy, dated November 2, 2023, says the site collects your email address and payment information, keeps personal data indefinitely until you ask for deletion, and does not share it with third parties except for legal reasons. Services are intended for users aged 13 and over.
That policy predates the third-party video models now listed on the pricing page and does not explain how prompts or scripts reach those providers. Leave confidential product details and personal stories about other people out of prompts until the policy covers that flow.
Can the free start produce a 30-second explainer you could post?
Proposed evaluation · not performed yet
Use a free account and the idea “a 30-second explainer on how to repot a houseplant”, with a stock voice. The test ends at a downloaded file; any paid upgrade for watermark removal is a separate stage.
- Record the starting credit balance and the date.
- Enter the idea and review the generated script for errors before rendering.
- Render once, then change one illustration and the subtitle style.
- Download the MP4 and check duration, subtitle timing, watermark and resolution outside the editor.
- Record the credits used by the first render and by the change.
Accept a vertical video close to 30 seconds with accurate steps, synced subtitles and a clear voice. Reject factual errors, missing audio or an export that cannot be posted. Leave the credit figures and watermark status blank until the test is run.
For short videos made from a web page or product photo, compare Cliptalk. For presenter-led clips with an avatar, see HeyGen. To cut footage you recorded yourself by editing its transcript, see Descript.
Is ShortMake worth it?
Documentation review plus dated public user reports. Documentation review, not tested hands-on. Not scored.
Worth it if
- You run a faceless narrated channel and want a script, voice, visuals and subtitles from one typed idea, since the idea-to-video flow is built for that.
- You want to try a posting routine month to month, because the plans are billed monthly and the terms call the subscription cancellable at any time.
Probably not if
- You need your own cloned voice, since the provider lists voice cloning as coming soon and only stock voices are offered today.
- You expect a refund if a first month goes badly, because the terms rule out refunds once credits have been added to the account.
- You plan paid ads with the clips, since the public terms do not address output rights and the terms describe the platform as beta.
ShortMake alternatives
Other video & editing tools checked with the same method. Pick by the job, not by a score.
Developers and small teams who want a conversational video avatar for support, sales or tutoring and need to budget by minutes
Short animated stories from a script or prompt
Teachers, students and math YouTubers who want 3Blue1Brown-style explainer clips from a description, with an editable Manim code playground when they want control
Relighting or changing the background of short video clips
Mac editors who want Claude, Codex or Cursor to cut video
Localizing short talking-head videos into several languages
Creators planning short licensed clips
Animators, game developers and 3D creators who want rough-to-usable character motion from phone footage and will clean it up in their own 3D tool
Used ShortMake? Write the first review. Visitor opinions are moderated and kept separate from our source checks.
Frequently asked questions
How long does ShortMake take to make a video?
The FAQ says most videos are generated in under 7 minutes from idea to finished product, and the homepage breaks that down into about a minute for the script, a minute to pick a voice and style and about five minutes to render. Longer videos and regenerated scenes add to that time.
Which platforms can I post ShortMake videos to?
The FAQ lists TikTok, YouTube Shorts, Instagram Reels and Snapchat stories, all vertical short-form formats. Each platform has its own rules on labelling AI-generated content, so check the disclosure setting in the app you post to rather than assuming the export meets it.
Is ShortMake available in other languages?
The site interface is offered in English and French, and the FAQ says the AI voices cover multiple languages. The pricing page does not list the languages for each voice, so generate a short sample in your target language before committing a paid month to a non-English channel.
How do I delete my ShortMake account data?
The privacy policy says you can email contact@shortmake.com to ask for your personal data to be updated, exported or deleted, and that data is otherwise kept indefinitely. Cancel any active subscription first, since the terms rule out refunds for credits already added.
Are review sites and affiliate pages about ShortMake independent?
Not always. ShortMake runs an affiliate program, and several sites that rank for the name are review or alternative pages that may earn commissions. Use the provider pricing page for current plan figures and treat third-party claims about output quality as untested unless they show their method.
Sources and method5 official sources · 6 details checked · Sep 29, 2026
How we checked this profile
6 details on this page were checked against ShortMake's own pages and help documentation (Sep 29, 2026).
See the checks by section6 documented
| Section | Checks | Last checked | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|
| Article text | 1 documented | shortmake.com/pricing | |
| Plans and prices | 2 documented | shortmake.com/pricing | |
| Strengths and limits | 1 documented | shortmake.com/terms | |
| Features | 1 documented | shortmake.com/pricing | |
| Other details | 1 documented | shortmake.com/privacy |
Sources for this profile
- Plans and credits (monthly and annual views)shortmake.com
- Product overviewshortmake.com
- Terms and conditions (updated February 2, 2024)shortmake.com
- Privacy policy (updated November 2, 2023)shortmake.com
All 5 sources
The terms, updated February 2, 2024, name SHORTIA LLC without a country or address and describe the platform as beta. The privacy policy, updated November 2, 2023, says personal data is not shared with third parties except for legal reasons, but it does not describe how prompts reach the third-party video models listed on the pricing page. The annual Starter price appears above the monthly price. User counts differ between pages and are not repeated here.
Sources checked Sep 29, 2026. Found something out of date? See how we correct profiles.

